Organized Help

Blogging is new to me so I’ve been playing around with the site to see what I can do with it.  It seems this will be an ongoing task and the appearance of the page will morph its way into what I really like eventually.

So, CKD.  Let me tell you about my total incomprehension of what was going on inside my body when I was first diagnosed.  That’s when I needed a blog like this or, even better, a book that spoke to me. 

There are so many helpful associations like the following:

American Association of Kidney Patients (AAKP)   3505 E. Frontage Rd., Suite 315   Tampa, Fl. 33607   (800) 749–2257   www.aakp.org

American Kidney Fund (AKF)   6110 Executive Blvd., Suite 1010   Rockville, Md. 20852    (800) 638-8299   www.kidneyfund.org

American Medical Association (AMA)   515 N. State Street     Chicago, IL 60654   (800) 621-8335   www.ama-assn.org

American Society of Nephrology   1725 I Street, NW     Suite 510   Washington, DC 20006   (202) 659-0599   www.asn-online.org

National Kidney Disease Education Program   3 Kidney Information Way   Bethesda, Md. 20892   (866) 454-3639   ww.nkdep.nih.gov

 National Kidney Foundation (NKF)   30 East 33 St.   NYC, NY 10016   (800) 622–9010   www.kidney.org

National Kidney and Urologic Diseases Information Clearinghouse (NKUDIC)   3 Kidney  Information Way   Bethesda, Md. 20892         (800) 891-5390   www.kidney.niddk.nih.gov 

Notice I hyperlinked for you – just in case you need to see them right away.  “Right away” was pretty important to me at first. 

By the way, the street address for two of these organizations says it all: Kidney Information Way.

I wish I could say that all this information was enough for me, but it wasn’t.  More about that tomorrow.

Published in: on September 3, 2010 at 5:54 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2010/09/03/organized-help/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m liking the progress on the site… although I didn’t realize the rest. I take it there is not an effective treatment to either eliminate or suppress the condition? (I know I should read the links, but I’m catching up on some work right now and can’t do too much reading at the moment. I will peruse them later on tomorrow).

    At least it’s good to see new outlets from you 🙂

    Jarrod

  2. Thanks, Jarrod, you know your opinion is important to me.

    Read on: the best a CKD patient can do is slow down the progress of the kidney deterioration. I’m doing my best.

    Keep your eye out for the book publication notice in the not so near future.


Leave a Reply

