The Rest of the Blood and Urine Results

You may have noticed the ads for this blog on Facebook or Google.  While I want this information out there NOW, it is from a book  to be published as soon as possible.  You may also have noticed the blog link on the American Society of Nephrology and the Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) Discussion Forum group pages.  Thanks to them for helping me offer whatever I can to new CKD patients via the blog.

Let’s go back to the Comprehensive Metabolic Panel of the blood test results – just for a little bit – and then on to the elements of the  urinanalysis.  I know this isn’t the most scintillating information in the world, but understanding it could be really important in your new CKD world.

Tsh w/reflex to Free T4 Tsh

I am not kidding: when I first looked at this, I thought of freeing some kind of revolutionary who had been jailed despite popular support. I was getting tired of trying to understand what I didn’t and cracking silent jokes to relieve the tension. What this test is really for is to see if the T3 (thyroid) test comes back abnormal, in which case, the lab needs to run another thyroid test – the T4.

Urogram w/Rflx Micro and Culture

Normal urine has a color, pale to dark yellow or amber, and is clear. That much I readily understood. I giggled when I read “specific gravity” since I was reading quickly and saw that as “specific gravy.” That only confirmed to me that I was becoming more tense with all this new information, but I felt I needed to know what the tests were. This one is a serious test for kidney patients: a specific gravity above the reference range may mean renal (kidney) impairment.

The only thing I really wanted to know about in this section was the word “Moderate” in the range column with the doctor’s assistant’s question mark over it. It turns out that leukocyte esterase simply means that there are white blood cells in the urine.  White blood cells fight infection.  I had a plain, old, garden variety infection that a dose of antibiotics would take care of. It didn’t indicate anything serious or associated with the kidneys.

I decided I’d better understand the other tests, too – just in case, you understand. A positive nitrite reading might mean bacteria. The Ph, Urine tests are to check for urinary tract infections or to see if you’re at risk for kidney stones (Despite this test, I ended up with a teeny, little one that summer). Blood, Protein, and Glucose are self-explanatory.

 I thought I remembered what ketones were, but checked anyway.  I was right that their presence may indicate diabetes, but did not know they could also indicate starvation. Urobilinogen and bile deal with liver disease. I realized this new physician was taking very good care of me. There were numerous tests to examine the liver function AND she had picked up the low estimated GFR.

Urinalysis, Microscopic

I already knew about white blood cells and red ones from the CBC, but I didn’t recognize epithelial. An increased number of these cells in the urine could indicate a kidney problem. There seemed to be so many POSSIBLE indicators of kidney disease in all these tests.

Bacteria was something I was familiar with, but Hyaline Casts were not. Apparently, these are normal but a larger number of them (here we go again) MAY be an indication of kidney disease. The casts themselves are small tubules (which is a VERY small tube).

I didn’t know what to do with all this information, all these “may indicates.” I was researched out and had a tenuous hold on only one or two of what these tests meant in terms of kidney disease, although I understood the liver tests more clearly.  It was peculiar that I’d never bothered to find out more about them before.  They somehow didn’t seem all that important until now when I might have Chronic Kidney Disease. I needed my doctor and my notebook.  I made another appointment so she could explain again what these tests meant and I could take notes while she did.  

Hang in there.  You’re reading about my test results and my experience.  I’m sharing them because I needed someone to share theirs with me when I was first diagnosed.  I didn’t have anyone.  You have me.

Published in: on September 24, 2010 at 10:50 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2010/09/24/the-rest-of-the-blood-and-urine-results/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your story sounds like mine. My GFR is 58 should be 60. and AST (SGOT) is high at 58. You sound rather knowledgeable, what do you think?

    • I’m not that knowledgeable, Darlene. You need to ask your doctor about this.

      Meanwhile, I looked up AST on e-how.com Health since I knew very little about it. This is what they said, “What Can Cause a High SGOT Level? Causes for a high SGOT level can include infection, viral hepatitis, mononucleosis, gallbladder disease, the presence of toxins from drugs or alcohol and cancer. It may also indicate muscle damage from a fall or injury, or a muscle disease such as polymyositis or muscular dystrophy. And it can indicate problems with your kidneys, heart or pancreas, or a breakdown of red blood cells.A high SGOT may also reflect certain medicines you take, including certain cholesterol-lowering drugs, anti-inflammatories, anti-fungal medications and some antibiotics (erythromycin). ” This is only part of their information about SGOT. I included it so you can see it covers everything from a simple infection or reaction to medication to the more serious causes. You may need more tests. I urge you to speak to your doctor about this as soon as possible, if for no other reason, at least to put your mind at rest if it is nothing serious.

      As for the GFR, educate yourself now. You can slow down the progression of CKD at this stage. Find out about the renal diet, exercise, sleep, rest, etc. Yes, you can get the information from my book, but you can also get it for free from any number of sites.

      Good luck to you and do let me know how you’re doing.


Leave a Reply

