Thank you so much!

Thank you again, everyone, this time for your comments.  One came all the way from Italy.  I make an attempt to answer every comment I recieve.  Help me succeed by letting me know if yours was lost in the pre-publication-keep-all-the-balls-moving-in-the-air atmosphere that now prevails in my life.  I’d appreciate it.

A really big thank you to those who have contacted me via my website to offer their initial reaction to their diagnosis stories.  You’ll see them in the book.  For those of you who have just decided share your stories, there’s still time to send them to me.

And my last thank you (in this blog) is for those who have offered whatever information they have to help me get this baby published.  Dr. CathyDevore, my chiropractor, gave me the card of a client of hers who is a self-publisher.  Dr. Nancy Matte,  my former chair person in the English Department of Phoenix College, is editing the book. Jessica Garcia of RsnHope suggested I submit an article to their KidneyTimes. com, which I have.  A gentleman from a FB transplant group suggested I host a discussion group for them. My daughter, Nima Beckie, took the time to help research CKD discussion forums. There are others, but I’m not certain at this point if they want to be named or not.

I cannot begin to tell you (of course I can: I’m a writer) how good it feels to know there are people out there that feel this blog (read book) is as important as I do. Some of these people are not CKD patients, but can understand how lonely the first few months of any illness can be.

Back to The Doctor Visit Report now. 

The second page is usually where the visit information begins. The first part of that is called the HPI, which means History of Present Illness. It included who I was as far my age, sex, and present medical state, why I made this appointment and my present medical conditions and medications. This section may include previous treatment for these problems and what I planned to do as far as future treatment for them.  Again, check.  At one point, I found a disease listed here I could not pronounce, much less define.  It was just a typographical error.

Then came the ROS or Review of Systems.  My primary care physician asked me questions about my constitution, the functional habits of my body such as weight changes (with no judgment!  Hurray!), fever or chills. The cardiac part of my health was covered with questions about chest pain or palpitations. Finally, the lungs were referred to with questions about coughs, shortness of breath and dyspnea (difficulty breathing). On my initial visit, the ROS was more inclusive with questions about my eyes, ears, nose, throat, and the following systems: respiratory, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, musculoskeletal, integumentary (skin and its associates, like the nails), neurological, psychiatric and endocrine. That makes sense because she’d never met me before and needed to make her own assessment, rather than trust that of my previous doctor.  It’s like when you go to a new auto mechanic.  He or she may ask for your car’s history, but then he’d want to examine the car himself.

The next section, The Report of the Physical Examination, was based on the doctor’s observations and palpitations of my body. It included a general appraisal of my appearance, and specifics about my neck, heart, lungs, abdomen and extremities.  This is the “poking around” part of your visit. Again, it was more comprehensive on my initial visit including the eyes, respiratory system, lymphatic system, skin, neurological and psychiatric.

The report continued with whatever Diagnostic Procedures were followed.  On my first visit, this consisted of reviewing the charts from my previous physician, the lab results and that of the abdominal ultrasound. That was enough to jolt me, but more because I didn’t yet know what any of this meant for me than that the actual results were devastating. I hadn’t taken any of this information into account before.

Published in: on October 8, 2010 at 5:37 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2010/10/08/thank-you-so-much/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Looks like you’re “On Your Way’, and very soon you will be publishing with a following. CHEERZ TU……and SUCCESS!!! JO

  2. That’s what I like to hear. Thank you a million times. This gets me through the business part of this, which is not exactly something I jump to do.


Leave a Reply

