Dear Abby Speaks

Thursday is World Kidney Day, while March in National Kidney Month.  There’s a reason there’s such attention being paid to our kidneys.  Yesterday, my neighbor texted me in the middle of her work day to let me know our local newspaper, The Arizona Republic, carried a Dear Abby column about kidney disease.  With thanks to Amy Vlasity and Dear Abby, that column is today’s blog.

Take care of kidneys before it’s too late

by Dear Abby – Mar. 7, 2011 12:00 AM

Dear Abby: Like many other young adults, I was too busy establishing a career during my 20s and early 30s to care much about diet and exercise.

I felt healthy, so I saw no need to change my lifestyle. My doctor had told me my blood pressurewas elevated during a number of my yearly physical exams, but I didn’t ask any questions and took no action.

Then one morning, I walked into my doctor’s office complaining of a severe headache and nausea. I was sent to the hospital with a dangerously high blood pressurereading.  After just a few tests, I was told I had chronic kidney disease.

Even though it can be silent and cause no symptoms, high blood pressure should not be ignored. It is a leading cause of kidney disease, and because I didn’t pay attention, my kidneys began to shut down.

Abby, please tell your readers who are at risk for chronic kidney disease (and that’s anyone with high blood pressure, diabetes or a family history of CKD) to check how their kidneys are functioning. I found out – too late – how important it is.

– Aziza M., New York City

Dear Aziza: Of course I will pass on your warning. According to the National Kidney Foundation, more than 26 million adults and thousands of American children have chronic kidney disease – and most of them don’t know they have it. In addition, millions of people who have diabetes, hypertension and other diseases are unaware that they too are at risk for developing it.

Thursday is World Kidney Day. The National Kidney Foundation is offering free screenings during the month of March through the Kidney Early Evaluation Program in cities and towns around the country.

With more than 50 local offices nationwide, the NKF provides early-detection screenings and other vital patient and community services. To find a screening near you, visit www.kidney.org.

I went to the website and found what looked like a comprehensive list of screening areas throughout the country, but didn’t see my home state.  That’s when I noticed the area directly above the list where you can enter your zip code, hit submit and a drop down list of local centers will appear.

Today’s blog will stay short and sweet so you get the message: urge everyone you know to get themselves checked.  There are no symptoms until you have lost MOST of your kidney function.  Don’t wait, please.

Until Friday,

Keep living your life.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2011/03/08/dear-abby-speaks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

