There Goes Another Reason To Enjoy Carbs – Kapop.

Milk and soy protein supplements may be better than carbs for lowering blood pressure

Blood pressureMilk and soy protein supplements may be better than carb supplements for lowering systolic blood pressure (Joe Raedle / Getty Images)

By Jeannine Stein, Los Angeles Times / For the Booster Shots blog

July 18, 2011, 4:09 p.m.

Strike another blow for refined carbs: A study released today finds that soy and milk protein supplements may be associated with lower blood pressuremore than refined carbohydrate supplements.The study, published online in Circulation: Journal of the American Heart Assn., put 352 adults who were at risk for high blood pressureor who had mild hypertension on various rounds of supplements. The participants were given 40 grams of powdered soy, milk or refined complex carb supplements daily for eight weeks, and had their blood pressure taken at various intervals during the trial. They were told to keep their calories the same, as well as their usual sodium consumption and amount they exercised.Although none of the groups experienced a significant drop in diastolic blood pressure readings, there were differences in systolic readings. A systolic reading (the top number) measures the force put on the arteries when the heartcontracts, pushing blood through the arteries. A diastolic reading (the bottom number) measures the force in the arteries between heart beats.Those who took the milk protein supplement had an average 2.3-mmHg lower systolic blood pressure compared with when they had the carb supplement. And those who had the soy protein supplement saw an average 2-mmHg drop in systolic pressure compared with the carb supplement.

Blood pressure readings didn’t change substantially during the time the study participants took the carb supplement.

“Some previous observational research on eating carbohydrates inconsistently suggested that a high carbohydrate diet might help reduce blood pressure,” said the study’s lead author, Dr. Jiang He, in a news release. He, an epidemiologist at Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine in New Orleans, added, “In contrast, our clinical trial directly compares soy protein with milk protein on blood pressure, and shows they both lower blood pressure better than carbohydrates.”

As the grand-daughter of a Ukrainian miller, I have always loved bread. When other children had candy or cookies and milk as a snack, in my childhood home we had great slabs of rye, pumpernickel or corn bread sliced from an enormous wheel and then slathered with chicken fat for the adults (no comment) or butter (well, that’s a little better). It was heavenly, so I continued my love of bread into adulthood but never graduated to the adult’s chicken fat, preferring to stick to butter, then margarine when that was claimed to be healthier and back to butter since I’ve been diagnosed with Chronic Kidney Disease.

When life got hard during that bad patch I’ve mentioned a few times, I relied on my comfort food secure in the knowledge that, although I was adding calories, I was helping to lower my blood pressure. That same blood pressure that the bad patch was causing to rise… and rise… and rise.

And now this! My first – albeit slightly irreverent – reaction to this article was, “Is nothing sacred anymore!!!!” screamed in anguish. I wanted my bread. Re-reading the article I see I can have it – keeping within the six carbohydrate units on my renal diet, naturally – but it just might not be helping to lower my blood pressure. Considering I only have four ounces of dairy on this same diet, I’m just not sure how much this information will be of use to me. You, however, may have much more use for this interesting if slightly unsettling information. You can find the original article at:

http://www.latimes.com/health/boostershots/la-heb-blood-pressure-supplements-20110718,0,628995.story

Don’t forget if you’re in the neighborhood on Friday, October 14, let me know so we can meet for lunch after the public book talk from 11:30 to 12:30 at Chez Nous 14495 W. R. H. Johnson Blvd. Sun City 85375.

My co-administrator on our Facebook page of the same name made a wonderful suggestion: a free autographed copy of the book will be given to each and every person to obtain an appointment for me with a potential sponsor for the book.

I am Jewish. It is the Jewish new year. My wish for you this new year is that you have a happy, HEALTHY life until I can wish you the same next year.

Until next week,
Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2011/10/03/there-goes-another-reason-to-enjoy-carbs-kapop/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

