Dr. Rich Synder DO – Guest Blog

Nothing like being post blood draw for feeling relieved and ready to work.  By the way, that picture frame on the right side of the table contains a list of my numbers.  Make sure you know your own so you can deal intelligently with your body and your doctors.

I keep my eye out for any Chronic Kidney Disease publications after the release date of my own book.  One day, to my surprise since it had been a futile attempt until then, I discovered What You Must Know About Kidney Disease. I figured it was going to be about another kind of kidney disease just like all the others I’d looked at since last May, but it wasn’t. I bought it, read it, and is my wont, contacted the author to both congratulate him on an informative book and ask him whatever questions I had.  It turned out Dr. Synder reads the blog and to quote him, “Concerning your blog, I love your blog!”  Where’s that feather that keeps knocking me over?

You’ll find his blog on my blogroll to the right below the calendar after the categories.  I should be on his blogroll, too, by now or will be soon.  This is one busy person.

Below are the answers to some of the questions I asked him:

Let me a clarify: probiotics and alkalinized water are for everyone.

My approach: I am looking at the kidney as part of and working with your total body. It is a different approach than the way I was taught in fellowship. If the heart and the blood vessels and the cells are not working well, your kidneys are not going to work well.I am using a more holistic approach.

Probiotics in general: While decreasing total body inflammation, they help to normalize the immune system as well as help bowel irregularity. The kidney based probiotic is still a probiotic; it just also helps to also clear the intestine of the uremic toxins that can build up in advanced CKD. They have the lactobacillus and bifidobacterium species present in other probiotics.

Concerning water: Do you know how many people I see with early stage CKD who have a benign urine and no proteinuria? Why do they have early CKD ? Maybe part of it is what we ingest and what we are exposed to every day. An article in The New England Journal of Medicine talked about water and low level lead exposure and how it can be a cause of CKD over the years. This encompasses the pesticides in the water, not to mention the cellular effect of an acidic Western diet. I did a show entitled “Are Colas Killing Your Kidneys?” in which I talked about the fact that twenty years of phosphoric acid are likely to have an effect on your kidneys.

Ongoing studies of how to treat glomerular disease and proteinuria: These look at protocols: what can I give – steroids or chemo or both? I am not going to say I have  not used them or medications when necessary. I would be a hypocrite if I did. But….why, why, why do my patients have kidney disease and what can one do about it? The prevention is what we do each and every day of our lives.

Here are some suggestions:
1) Alkaline/anti-inflammatory based diet: Some say,”Eat for your blood type.” But, what is the DASH diet for hypertension? It is not just a low salt diet. It is also full of anti-oxidants and anti-inflammatory.

2) Water: I have taken alkaline water myself and I notice a difference in how I feel. Our bodies are sixty percent water. Why would I not want to put the best type of water into it? Mineralized water helps with bone health.  In alkalinized water, the hydroxyl ions produced from the reaction of the bicarbonate and the gastric acid with a low pH produce more hydroxyl ions which help buffer the acidity we produce on a daily basis. Where are these buffers? In the bones and in the cells, as well as some extracellular buffers. You are helping lower the total body acidity and decreasing the inflammation brought on by it. You do this early on so that you don’t have a problem with advanced acidosis later. Why wait until you are acidotic before doing something?

3) Decreasing total body inflammation and raising anti-oxidant support:  Why is the heart the most common organ affected by kidney disease and dialysis? It’s due to inflammation and vascular calcification. If a person is diabetic and obese, they may also have a fatty liver. Altered liver hemodynamics are also going to play  a role in kidney function. I see the end aspect of this everyday in the hospital. I look at these things too.

4) Standard care for someone with diabetes and kidney disease: This is the use of an ACE inhibitor. This is right and I use it with anyone I can. What happens if the person is on the ACE inhibitor and is still spilling tons of protein? What happens if they can’t take the ACE inhibitor because of high potassium problems?  I look for other answers.

Your kidney doctors are not wrong  at all in what they are telling you. I  just look at things from an additional perspective. Do I bat 1,000? No way. Have I had better results than before? Absolutely, yes. Do I need to learn a lot more? Heck, yes….I keep looking at things from a different perspective and asking why.

Many thanks to Dr. Synder for guest blogging to answer my questions today. Listen in at 8pm EST (that’s 6pm in Az.) to hear him interview me on Improve Your Kidney Health tonight: www.voiceamerica/show/1843/improve-your-kidney-health.

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2011/11/21/dr-rich-synder-do-guest-blog/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Comment: I to borrow a line from Dr. Snyder and re-iterate how I “absolutely love your blog” on “Chronic Kidney Disease Experiences”.

    I have a niece Tina Harris, who has stage 5 renal renal. I decided to read everything I could get my hands on about this disease and it’s effects. Today, when I discovered your blog!

    I was pleasantly surprised. I want say thank you for the recommendation of Dr. Snyder’s book “What You Must Know About Kidney Disease.” This will be the next book I get. I want to say thank you to both you and Dr. Synder.

    I’ve booked your blog and of course, I’ll be back to get more insight.

    • If you love the blog, wait until you read the book “What Is It And How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease” at Amazon.com, Barneandnoble.com or http://myckdexperience.com. I’m sure I’ve mentioned that my aim is to get this book into the hands of every newly diseased CKD patient. Since I can’t afford to give it away, I’m looking for backing.

  2. Thank you for taking the time to tell me you enjoy the blog. I appreciate that.

  3. hi,
    i am looking high and low for a natural cure, (;means herbal or vegan
    or raw), for my ckd friend.

    stumble on this blog.

    appreciate if there is more lights shading on this disease so that
    they can be of help

    thank you in anticipation.

    • I’m not so sure I can help you, Janet. Early stage CKDers are limited to only three measured servings of different kinds of vegetables per day and the same for fruit. That won’t be enough to sustain a CKDer on a vegan diet. As for raw, nuts is a large part of that diet, but we are not permitted nuts. And now herbal: CKDers are warned against herbal medicine since even those that have been tested have not been tested for us. We have so many potassium, phosphorous, protein and sodium restrictions, as well as those on fat and calories that I can’t think of a single vegan, raw or herbal diet that would offer enough food to sustain a person with CKD. Sorry to disappoint.

      • Hold the presses! I just came across this vegan information that might be helpful to Janet, but be forewarned: there are many foods listed here that are NOT on the renal diet despite their inclusion in the list. PLEASE have your friend check with her nutritionist before she begins eating this way.

        (This is a group that has a Facebook page.They were responding to a comment I’d made about the restrictions on portion size and limitations, as well as type of fruit or vegetable on the renal diet.)

        Raising A Vegan Child

        Hi @Gail Rae: True, true, but do not despair. There are many vegan foods that allow you to control protein, phosphorus, potassium and sodium in your diet. Plant-proteins are generally less demanding on your kidneys anyway. Here’s a list of renal-friendly foods:

        * Soy protein (tofu, tempeh)
        * Wheat protein (seitan)
        * Mycoprotein (Quorn)
        * Nut butters (up to 2 tablespoons — about 28 grams — a day)
        * Soy milk
        * Soy yogurt
        * Low potassium fruits: apples, blueberries, cherries, cranberries, coconut, fruit cocktail, grapefruit, grapes, pineapple, pears, strawberries, and tangerines
        * Low potassium vegetables: asparagus, beets, bell peppers, broccoli, cabbage, carrots, cauliflower, celery, chili peppers, corn, cucumber, eggplant, greens (collard, mustard, kale)

        # Please discuss these with your doctor and dietitian … as we are sure you already have 🙂

        ** Sources:
        [1] Mayo Clinic -> http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/renal-diet/AN01465

        [2] VRG -> http://www.vrg.org/journal/vj2004issue2/vj2004issue2kidney.htm

        [3] “The Vegetarian Diet for Kidney Disease Treatment” by Joan Brookhyser, RD, CSR, CD

  4. My husband just started probiotics 4 weeks ago (Renadyl) as I read on Dr. Snyders blog it can do wonders for creatinine and BUN levels. After a 2 week course his creatinine went up from 3.4 to 4.06. Now, 2 more weeks later (today) it went up to 5. Is it possible that this is just a temporary “die off” reaction from the probiotics? Has anyone encountered this – I am desperately seeking some feedback on this front.

    • Mary, I will pass the message, along with your email, address to Dr. Snyder immediately.

      Gail

  5. Have you heard any more from Mary Benedict above and her husband that started the probiotic renadyl and his creat went up. I am very interested in trying this product renadyl. Just trying to find someone who has actually used it.

    • Sorry, I have not heard any more from Mary, but will try to contact her to find out if she’s willing to email you directly. Of course, first I need to hear from you if I have your permission to give Mary your email address.

      • Thank you for your prompt reply and yes you have my permission to give Mary my email.

        Thank you again,

        Lynn

        ________________________________

  6. Everything is very open with a very clear explanation of the issues.

    It was really informative. Your website is extremely helpful.
    Thank you for sharing!

    • Thank you. All I want to do is spread info that has to do with CKD so your comment is very welcome.


Leave a Reply

