Happy Post St. Patrick’s Day

There’s so much I haven’t yet shared with you, so I’ll do that before the actual blog.

If you haven’t listened to my latest (and best, to my way of thinking) guest appearance on a radio show, here’s your chance:

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/onlinewithandrea/2012/03/07/early-stage-chronic-kidney-disease.

To be honest, I’ve never been comfortable with the label “kidney expert.” I’m just unfortunate enough to be a Chronic Kidney Disease patient.  After this show, I realized how much I knew… and that only made me want to share the information even more.

I’d also forgotten all about my promise to share reviews of the book with you, so here’s another one:

  5.0 out of 5 stars         Dr Rich Snyder, DO. Nephrologist, March 3, 2012
This review is from: What Is It and How Did I Get It?: Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease (Paperback)

This is a must read for anyone who has kidney disease. I had the privilege of reading Gail’s book and  interviewing her on the radio. For anyone with kidney disease, this is one of the best books around written by someone who has kidney disease. I recommend this book highly!!!!!!!
Dr Rich Snyder, DO is the author of What You Must Know About Kidney Disease: A Practical Guide to Using Conventional and Complementary Treatments. He is the host of the radio show Improve Your Kidney Health on the Voice America Health & Wellness Channel.

Okay, let’s get blogging! Now that you’ve eaten just about everything green you could find, make or buy, it’s time to remind yourself of how you should be eating on your renal diet.  We all make exceptions in our lives and St. Patrick’s Day is a grand excuse to make an exception to the diet.  Okay, over, done with, back to the straight and narrow. (She writes thinking lovingly of the chocolate cake with walnuts that was her St. Patrick’s Day exception even if it wasn’t green.)

This survey is from Canada, but is true to the renal diet as we Americans know it.  Take it and see what you’ve forgotten since you last saw your renal nutritionist. It’s short and a good reminder about the diet.  For example, I got so confused about the difference between healthy eating and the renal diet that I was still eating whole wheats instead of white bread.  Not good.

Test Your Knowledge on Nutrition

http://www.surveygizmo.com/s3/722719/Nutrition-Quiz

After taking the survey,  I went to The American Kidney Fund’s Pair Up site and found some other information about the renal diet that I can’t accept. You’ve got it, the line about eating whole wheat products.  Also, while stocking your fridge with already washed and cut fruits and veggies is a good idea, you’ve got to keep your restrictions in mind – for me it’s three servings – each serving size dependent upon the food – of each a day, but also a limited variety.  Avoid starfruit!!!! It is toxic to CKDers.

Limit the amount of red meat you eat, too. Or is that just for me?  I know my renal diet was adjusted for my likes and dislikes (thank you, Crystal Barrerra – my renal nutritionist) as yours should be, but I don’t know if this red meat restriction is a universal guideline.  Crystal agrees that you needn’t cut out your favorite foods, just cut down on them but I think you should cut down on them as a means to cutting them out entirely.  Why overwork those poor kidneys?  They’re already overburdened. Whoa! I’m beginning to become the renal diet foodie.

I do agree with everything else in the article and think it’s well worth a read.

Living Healthy: Myth vs. Reality

Make just a few simple changes to eat healthier

Myth:

It’s hard to eat healthy. It takes too much time and doesn’t taste good.

Reality:

A few simple changes can make a big difference in your diet.

Some tips:

  • Start your day off with breakfast.
  • Slow down when you eat.
    • You may notice that you enjoy your food more.
    • It takes a while for your stomach to recognize that it’s full. Slowing down will give you time to realize you’re full before you overeat.
  • Stock your fridge with fruits and veggies.
    • Snack on these instead of chips and crackers.
    • Take time on the weekend to clean and cut them so they’re ready to grab and go on busy weekdays.
  • Opt for low-fat or fat-free dairy products.
  • Switch to whole grain bread and pasta.
  • Choose lean meats.
    • Bake or grill them instead of frying.
    • Remove the skin from chicken or turkey.
    • Opt for fresh meats instead of processed meats like lunchmeat and hot dogs.
  • Challenge yourself to find healthy recipes.
  • Get creative with different combinations of foods and spices.
  • Stash your junk food in hard to reach places, like a high cupboard or top shelf of a pantry. When these foods are out of sight and less accessible, you’re less likely to indulge.
  • Instead of cutting out your favorite foods, limit how much you eat. Rather than eating half a pizza, stop after just one or two slices.
  • Avoid eating from large containers. Place one serving in a bowl and put the container away. This can help you keep tabs on your portions.
  • Drink plenty of water.
  • Eat only when you’re hungry.

This is the website for Pair Up’s diet suggestions: http://www.kidneyfund.org/pair-up/learn/live-healthy/

Have I mentioned that I’ll be at Chattanooga’s 21st Renal Symposium in the vendors’ area?  On the Facebook  page, I suggested people come visit if they’re in the area.  A kidney transplant receipent is meeting me as is another reader, who just happens to be my younger daughter’s friend from junior high (middle?) school.  The connections you make – or remake – when you become passionate about something are surprising. Now let’s see how well I do with the renal diet when I’m away from home.

Until next week,

A very happy Mom with her two daughters, Nima and Abby

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2012/03/19/happy-post-st-patricks-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

