Better And Better

Here I am in beautiful downtown Portland,Oregon.   All I’ve seen of it so far is the highway since  I’ve been attending the Landmark Advanced Course downtown and I’m staying near the airport way out of town, but the trees lining the highway are beautiful… and green.  Not so green as to hurt the eyes, but green where I’m used to brown.  I live in a desert and I love it. It’s become the way it is for me, my norm.            

(Diagram courtesy of The National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, National Institutes of Health)

Just as the estimated glomerular filtration rate has become the norm for evaluating the presence of – and stage of – Chronic Kidney Disease.  You take a blood test and you catch your urine for 24 hours, right?  Then it’s tested. Here’s where the change may happen.  Currently, only the creatinine is evaluated -not the creatinine and cystatin-c.

The what, you say?  Good question and one I had to research myself. According to medterms.com, “It is a serum protein that is filtered out of the blood by the kidneys and that serves as a measure of kidney function.” A National Institute of Health study found that testing both creatinine and cystatin-c is more accurate which could prevent over diagnosing CKD and, more importantly to me, missing the CKD.

The article can be found at: http://www.nih.gov/news/health/jul2012/niddk-05.htm

By the way, I found some interesting articles about this dated as far back as five years ago.  I’m wondering why our nephrologists have not yet changed the tests they request to test for CKD.

If you haven’t heard yet, Kidneysteps.com ran a piece on me which mentions both the book and this blog. Thanks to Vicki Hulett for that. You’ll notice that the site has been added to the blogroll.

What’s that sound? Of course, it’s Portland’s Pink Trolley calling my name. *sigh* And just as my trusty old laptop seems to be breathing its last, too.

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2012/07/09/better-and-better/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

