The State of The Mind Address

Monday again… and I, for one, am so glad to see it.  It’s blog day and I’ve got a lot to say today.  I’ve been down – well, as down as my optimistic nature allows – with all the medical issues surrounding me the last few weeks. My very, very dear friend and sometimes ‘sister’ has been diagnosed with stage IV bowel cancer, diabetes, hypertension, depression, and anxiety. One of my children is being successfully treated for depression and anxiety, but has developed a pre-diabetic condition and elevated cholesterol.

So, what did I do?  What else?  I researched mental life’s effect on physical health. I found information I’d always taken for granted proven scientifically and some – like the different types of smiles – I hadn’t thought about.

In EurekAlert!’s July 30th article, I zeroed in on the following.

Poor mental health linked to reduced life expectancy

“There is a possibility that mental health problems may be associated with biological changes in the body that increase the risk of diseases such as heart disease.

In this study, approximately a quarter of people suffered from minor symptoms of anxiety and depression, however, these patients do not usually come to the attention of mental health services. The authors say that their findings could have implications for the way minor mental health problems are treated.”

Of course there’s more to the article, which you can read at: http://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2012-07/wt-pmh073112.php

It made sense to me.  Another one of my children had troublesomely high cholesterol when she was agonizing over a major life decision three years ago.  She took her medication, ate the right foods and made certain she exercised and it kept right on rising.  Fast forward to a few months after she made and acted upon her decision. She faced her fear (thank you, Landmark) and returned to her doctor for a complete physical even though she had stopped taking the medication and ignored her diet. As a dancer (she IS my daughter), exercise wasn’t a problem. I’m so glad she did go back to the doctor.  There is no sign of elevated cholesterol.  Why?  I’m laying it on the fact that she’s happier now.

I tend to smile quite a bit and look for reasons to smile even when life seems hard.  I wondered if that were helping me with my own health and, if so, would it help others. Then I located this Aug. 1, Medical News Today article:

Smiling Reduces Stress And Helps The Heart

“A new study suggests that holding a smile on one’s face during periods of stress may help the heart. The study, due to be published in a forthcoming issue of Psychological Science, lends support to the old adage ‘grin and bear it,’ suggesting it may also make us feel better.”

The article goes on to distinguish between the different kinds of smiling.  You can find it at:

http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/248433.php.

I found something unexpected to be happy about this week: Medical ID Fashions.  If you remember (and even if you don’t), I’d taken them off my blog roll because I ordered one of their medical alert bracelets and when it was delivered, there was a note in the box saying it could not be submerged in water.

I have osteoarthritis and could not (oh, all right, so I just didn’t want to) spend precious minutes a day struggling to get it off and on before I hit the shower. I just wanted something pretty that I could put on and ignore. I emailed the company about not warning the consumer that it wasn’t waterproof BEFORE the bracelet was purchased and received.

I heard nothing for months on end. Then the bracelet started to tarnish and I cleaned it.  Mistake!  Seems it could not tolerate the cleaning supplies I was using because there was some kind of protective coating over the brass and copper parts of it – a coating I knew nothing about since there was no information about cleaning on the website nor was any sent with the bracelet.

Again I sent an email.  This time I got a reply in less than 24 hours with a request to call them.  When I did and explained the problem, they offered to replace the bracelet with a waterproof stainless steel one for the difference in the price of the two bracelets.  I also noticed the websites now mentions which bracelets are waterproof although nothing is included about NOT being waterproof in the other bracelets’ descriptions.  There’s also still a lack of information about how to clean the bracelets.

I have already return mailed my old, ruined bracelet (who knew trying to be neat and clean could cause such problems?) and PayPal-ed the $20.  Now I wait. So I won’t have the pretty silver-copper-brass bracelet I wanted. I’ll have a waterproof, cleanable stainless steel one instead.  It may not be stylish but it could be a life saver.

I’m starting to see sales in England!  That’s something else to make me smile.  And thanks to AKDHC’s flier campaign, I’m starting to receive telephone calls from people who want the book but don’t have or know how to use a computer. I have a bunch of books I keep in the office for those without computers.  They can also be personally inscribed, if you’d like.  Just send me an email at: myckdexperience@gmail.com.

Time to get to researching cataract surgery and ckd.  Mine are scheduled for August 14th and September 4th.

Oh, got an email from a reader whose tests showed she had NO ckd, although she’d been diagnosed at stage 3.  Being a smart one, she retook the tests.  The first set of tests had false results.  No one knows quite how that happened, but if you should find you suddenly have test results, good or bad, that are totally unexpected, please have them redone.  We all want NOT to have CKD, but need to pay attention to it if we do.

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/the-state-of-the-mind-address/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

