Fat Day

I am being thrust into the 21st century whether I like it or not.  Thank goodness, Bear gave me an iPad for my 65th birthday because my laptop is not so functional these days and my big guy needs all kinds of things installed on it now that it’s fixed. This is a first for me, but I’m one paragraph in and so far, so good. Welcome to iPad blog (#1?).

I feel fat and frustrated today, sort of like this picture: Image  I could do the analyzing thing and decide that the frustration is displaced from not being able to do anything about my buddy’s decision to end her life or my cousin’s running out of options to save hers, but I know I have no control over these tragedies.

I feel fat and frustrated because I know what to do to lose weight, do it and still gain.  It got so that I started to wonder if exercise were worth it.  And counting calories?  That went out the window.  I never did get to the point of abandoning the renal diet, though.  That’s become sacrosanct, the way I wish losing weight was.

Following my usual method when I have a problem, I started researching.  I remembered blogging about brown fat cells, but these were only recently discovered and no one knows how to access them yet.  In case you forgot, brown fat cells gobble up other fat cells or something like that.  I’d have to revisit the blog about them to be more specific, but I fear if I leave this page it will disappear.  This is all so new to me.  You should be able to find it quickly since the computer savvy Ms. Nima Beckie categorized the blogs.  How nice for me to have family who can freelance on the payroll.

I found some information that won’t help me lose weight but makes the frustration lessen.  Lucky for me that I just bought a Groupon for dance lessons and that my youngest daughter, Abby Wegerski, runs Sustainable Blues at The Blooze Bar on 32 Street  ( Sunday nights free lesson at 5 with live band after).  There’s exercise I at least adore and it’s clear to me despite all my belly aching, exercise is very much in my future.

EurekAlert’s article about long term weight loss after menopause gave me pause (sorry, I couldn’t resist.  I think I’m feeling better already.) Obviously I’ve been through menopause, but not so obviously had no idea that because of that my resting metabolism has decreased, so has my losing weight and keeping it off ability despite having no sugary drinks, fried food or desserts.  Well, drastically cutting down on desserts. It helps that I know I’m lactose intolerant, but I certainly am having trouble working gluten sensitivity into my renal diet. You can find this article at: http://www.eurkalert.org/pub_releases/2012-08/ehs-ilw082212.php.

That wasn’t enough for me though.  I wanted to feel that I was like everyone else so I searched some more.  I should mention here that belly fat holds a great deal of my excess weight or, at least it looks that way to me. Why Medical News Today’s article “Belly Fat Increases Risk Of Death Even In People Of Normal Weight” should be comforting is beyond me, but it was and actually lessened my frustration a bit. The article cites a Mayo Clinic study in which it was suggested, “that people of average weight who have extra fat in their stomach have a higher risk of dying than obese people.” Am I interpreting this to mean it’s better to be obese?  I sure hope that is not the case.  The address for this article is: http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/249506.php.

A few things became clear while writing this blog.  I am trying to combine the renal diet with those for high cholesterol, lactose intolerance, and gluten sensitivity. I am not succeeding.  My failure here is probably the cause of my weight gain so I’ll see my renal nutritionist for help, keep on exercising (see you there, Abby) and go right back to counting calories.  Problem solved.

Did you know the book is available in India?  I didn’t. I thought it was only available here and in Europe.  Great work on Amazon’s part.  It’s also available on B&N.com, should you have a Nook.

Until next week,

Keep living your life!Image

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/fat-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I will immediately tzke hold oof your rss fed ass I
    can’t to find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service.

    Do you’ve any? Kindl permit me recognise in order that
    I could subscribe. Thanks.

    • Look on the right side of the page, Janell. You’ll have to scroll to the bottom. Let me know if you’re still having trouble subscribing after following theses instructions.


Leave a Reply

