Appy Trails To You

As any of my family members will tell you, I may not be the first around here to try something that’s electronically new but I like exploring and am always delighted to find one app (application) or another that makes my life easier.  For example, I’ve written several times about KidneyDiet, the app for counting electrolytes, fluids and calories.    

In the book What Is It And How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease, I wrote about carrying a pad and pen to keep track of these.  Obviously, that was before the app was developed. Now all I need is my phone… or iPad if I have it with me.  I could always check it out on my laptop, too. The point is I’m not tied to my desktop to use the app.

Apparently, doctors have started to see the electronic light, too.  According to the August 19, 2012, NY Times, apps may become part of your prescription and – get ready – be paid for by your insurance.  I bought my KidneyDiet app this year and had intended to claim it on my taxes as a  health cost, but to have my insurance pay for it?  That’s not only interesting, it’s astounding at the moment.  Of course, any new concept is.  Here’s to seeing this become part of our medical futures!

In addition to KidneyApp, I recently read about other apps. Being pre-diabetic, I was particularly interested in the one dealing with that disease. I thought it was another keeping-track-of-what-you-eat app. According to the article I mentioned, it reads as if it’s a doctor in your phone, or iPad, or laptop, or desktop.  In other words, it does a lot more than track.

This app, called DiabetesManager, does collect information about blood sugar levels, meds (medication) and diet as we’d expect but it can do so by wirelessly linking with the patient’s glucose monitor.  One of the biggest reasons I don’t use KidneyApp consistently is that information needs to be manually entered.

I realize this is nothing more than laziness on my part but I’m human – glucose monitors are not. That also means no chance of human error in entering the information, say as in a finger slip so that the incorrect information is being entered.

I was still being amazed that such a thing could be done (remember I’m 65.  I didn’t grow up with electronics.) when I was mentally blown out of the water by this statement:

“DiabetesManager then gives advice to a patient, perhaps suggesting the best food after recording a low midday blood-sugar reading. It also uses an algorithm to analyze the medical data and send clinical recommendations to the doctor.

WellDoc  [That’s the developer of DiabetesManager] says that in a clinical trial, DiabetesManager was shown to reduce significantly the blood sugar levels in diabetes patients. “

It gets even better.  According to the company, as of August of this year, two unidentified insurance companies agreed to pay the hefty $100 per month cost of the app.  Let me get this straight – diabetics get a doc in the pocket that insurance pays for?  Sign me up!  Oh wait, I don’t have diabetes.

There are similar apps being developed for heart problems, too, as well as for physical therapy and rheumatoid arthritis.  Maybe it has to do with my age, which means a history of personal doctor visits for information – then library research – on to internet research – and learning to track by hand, that I find this incredible.  I know it’s at hand, but I keep thinking it’s the science fiction of my youth.

While the FDA has already approved DiabetesManager, it won’t be available by prescription – yes, your doctor must prescribe it – before 2013.  You can read the article at: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/08/20/technology/coming-next-doctors-prescribing-apps-to-patients.html?pagewanted=2&_r=0&seid=auto&smid=tw-nytimeshealth.

Have you submitted your entry for the two contests we’re running until Wednesday?  One is to find the most creative use for this garden tub which is in my master bathroom and will be staying there and the other is to be the first person to find the reason it’s called a garden tub when it’s in a bathroom. The first contest is creative; the second factual.  Looks like I’ve got both parts of the brain covered.

You can submit your entries as comments here, emails to myckdexperience@gmail.com, posts on the Facebook Community Page “What Is It And How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease,” or at http://Pinterest.com  The prizes are (what else?) personally inscribed copies of the book What Is It And How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease.  

Pinterest is new for us so it’ll take a bit of time to get that straight.  Bear with us, please.

Bear!  Talking about Bear, I wanted to let you know how very enjoyable it is to realize we’ve turned the Thanksgiving torch over to his youngest and her fiancé. It was strange at first not to be the one scurrying around to organize the dinner, but I quickly got used to it. I’m beginning to see that age has its privilege.

Here’s something to make you jealous, Sean was the organizer and called me beforehand to find out what my eating restrictions are.  You are a welcome addition to the family, Sean.  Kelly knows I can only eat potatoes if they are soaked several times before cooking (to cut down on potassium) and automatically does that before making her delicious mashed potatoes. Thank you, Kelly.  That’s just another reason I love you.

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2012/11/26/appy-trails-to-you/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

