Stop It Before It Starts

Memorial Day

First things first: thank you to Bear and every other veteran – living or not – for the sacrifices you made for the rest of us.  I wasn’t quite sure I believed in the military until I watched the attacks on 9/11… while my children were in the city.  Then I knew.  That day, soldiers and police officers became the most respected people in my world. It’s been close to a dozen years, but I still find myself weeping when I think of it.  If this is post traumatic stress for me, what is it like for our returning soldiers?

There is no way to slide into a blog from that so I won’t. There was a question on What Is It And How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease‘s Facebook page ( https://www.facebook.com/WhatHowearlyCKD) about the inoculations that are suggested for those who have Chronic Kidney Disease.

Before we even get to the different kinds of inoculations, why do we need any in the first place?  According to http://www.davita.com/kidney-disease/overview/treatment-overview/immunizations–which-shots-you-need-and-why/e/4837:

“Immunizations may prevent people from contracting other diseases, infections and viruses. The immune system of a person with chronic kidney disease (CKD) becomes weakened, making it difficult to fight off many diseases and infections. Patients with CKD may become more susceptible to illness and even death if they do not receive regular immunization treatment. Getting the proper immunizations is an essential part of a person’s kidney care.”HBV

I have been on bed rest for several days, ever since I showed up at my primary care physician’s office for my Hepatitis-B vaccine and was told I’d have to come back for that at a later date.  I either had pneumonia or bronchitis. I didn’t know.  I thought I’d just been pushing my physical limits and needed to take some time off. Why mention that here?  Consider it proof that our immune systems become weaker with CKD.

I clearly remember (because it was only a few years ago), becoming sick for only a day at a time.   Then I noticed that maybe once a year I’d end up with the flu which had me down for about ten days.  This year, it’s been ten days with the flu, ten days with sinusitis, and now whatever this is.  You know I’ll be running to Dr. Zhao’s office for the inoculations as soon as my lungs are clear!

Now that I’ve convinced you they’re necessary, what are the inoculations?  There are three that DaVita suggests. The first, as mentioned, is Hepatitis-B. Let’s go back a little bit and define the disease. “Hepatitis B is a serious liver infection caused by the hepatitis B virus (HBV). For some people, hepatitis B infection becomes chronic, leading to liver failure, liver cancer or cirrhosis — a condition that causes permanent scarring of the liver. ” That’s what the Mayo Clinic has to say about it.  You can read more at:  http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/medical/IM02250.

A Hepatitis-B infection may lead to kidney failure. What’s worse is that some adults never exhibit the symptoms of this disease.  Your kidneys areliver already compromised, as is your immune system. To the best of my knowledge, the drugs to treat Hepatitis-B may also adversely affect the kidneys.

Think about it: your liver and your kidneys are the two most important blood filters you have. We already know we need to maintain as steady a blood pressure in the kidneys as we can to do no more damage to them.  The liver does this by releasing angiotensin which constricts your blood vessels. Don’t forget the liver helps maintain your blood sugars.  If it can’t do that due to infection,  kidney function can be further reduced. The liver also filters toxins and drugs from the blood.

The liver performs quite a few of the metabolic functions necessary to keep you alive, much less healthy, certain of which affect the kidneys. Metabolic means the “chemical processes occurring within a living cell or organism that are necessary for the maintenance of life,”  according to www.thefreedictionary.com. If your kidneys are already compromised and then your liver is, what happens to your blood pressure and blood sugars without any kind of regulation?  I know I’m already having problems with both and don’t need any more. This much I knew.

As I researched, I discovered that the liver also converts blood ammonia – which is toxic –  into urea. Remember the kidneys turn urea into urine and that the amount of urea directly affects our kidney function.  What I didn’t know is that Hepatitis-B is one of the infections that can inflame  the glomeruli.  These are the parts of the kidneys that do the filtering.

I’m sure you’ve all heard of cirrhosis of the liver.  Guess what.  It can lead to kidney failure.  Get the vaccine!

fluI’ve spent most of the blog on the Hepatitis-B because it’s relatively new and I, for one, didn’t know much about it.  I’ve already written several blogs about the flu vaccine, so I’ll just add this tidbit from http://www.esrdnetwork6.org/utils/pdf/immunizations.pdf, which is the website of the Southeastern Kidney Council, Inc.”

  • Cardiovascular disease is the leading cause of death among patients with CKD
  •  Infectious diseases are the Infectious diseases are the second most common cause of death among cause of death among patients with CKD

That statement speaks for itself.

Ah, now the third vaccination: Pneumococcal.  Sounds terrible, but it’s really just the pneumonia inoculation. MedicineNet at http://www.medicinenet.com/pneumococcal_vaccination/article.htm#who_should_consider_pneumococcal_vaccination  tells us this is,

” a method of preventing a specific type of lung infection (pneumonia) that is caused by pneumococcus bacterium. There are more than 80 different types of pneumococcus bacteria — 23 of them covered by the vaccine. The vaccine is injected into the body to stimulate the normal immune system to produce antibodies that are directed against pneumococcus bacteria.”

Naturally, the next question is why CKD patients? Dr. Joseph A. Vassalotti, Chief Medical Officer of the National Kidney Foundation and Dr. William Schaffner, President of the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases have explained it better than I ever could:

“One reason people with CKD are at greater risk for pneumococcal disease is because kidney disease can weaken the immune system and make the body more susceptible to infection.

2 Doctors and researchers have found that infections in people with CKD such as those caused by pneumococcal disease are worse and can be more serious than in people who don’t have CKD.pneunomia lungs

3 In some people, infection can cause death.”

You can read more about that at: http://www.kidney.org/atoz/content/Pneumococcal.cfm

It’s time for me to crawl back into bed.

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2013/05/27/stop-it-before-it-starts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

