Coffee, The Elixir of The Gods (Or Did I Just Make That Up?)

With all that’s going on in my life and in the world, I awoke today thinking, “Coffee, today’s blog is going to be about coffee!”  First thing I did was make the coffee (my turn today) and then pop back into bed with Bear and check Facebook.

And there it was, right in front of me.  And now, here it is, right in front of you. Mark Rosen shared MedicalPk’s coffee post (http://www.medicopk.com/health-benefits/some-surprising-health-benefits-of-coffee/).  Mark originated The Kidney Disease Ideas and Help Page I follow on Facebook and MedicalPk is a medical blog for students.Some-surprising-health-benefits-of-COFFEE  Look at all the benefits of coffee mentioned in this chart!  I made that a very large reproduction so you could read it. I wasn’t so sure this could all be true since I remembered the old adage, “If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.” *Notice, the article also mentions the negatives of coffee so look at the website.

Of course, as Chronic Kidney Disease patients, we can’t run wild in our pursuit of the perfect cup of coffee and how often we can have it. It’s 16 ounces (two cups) maximum for me so I want to have the best taste I can. Coffee Masters’ Jamaican Me Crazy is my favorite.  We discovered it while choosing our wedding cake at Bakery-Wee in Glendale and immediately ordered a ten pound bag.  I sort of, maybe, kind of knew that our wedding guests were not going to drink that much coffee.  Hence, almost two months later, there it is – waiting for me – on the kitchen counter next to the coffee machine everyday.

CoffeeCupPopCatalinStockBut it’s become one of those once-in-a-while-heaven-descends treats for me. I haven’t quite figured out how it can have the “richest, sweetest essence of the darkest tropical island rum” without containing alcohol, despite what it says on the package. That’s a topic for another blog.

Going a step further in my coffee research, I found an article at http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/257888.php that explains the benefits of Greek coffee and how that works.  The part that intrigued me was this:

“The endothelium is a layer of cells that lines the blood vessels, which is impacted by lifestyle habits and aging. The researchers focused on coffee because earlier research has proven that moderate coffee intake may decrease the risk of coronary heart disease, they [sic]} wondered whether it could have a positive impact on other areas of endothelial health.”

According to the article based on the findings which were published in Vascular Journal earlier this year, it did. If you look at the chart, you’ll see heart disease mentioned as one the ailments coffee may help prevent there, too.

Another article, this one from Digestive Disease Week, offered more good news about coffee:

“Coffee consumption helped protect against the autoimmune liver disease known as primary sclerosing cholangitis (PSC), a disorder of the bile ducts that causes inflammation and obstruction and that can lead to transplantation or death.”

This one is discussed on MedpageToday at: http://www.medpagetoday.com/MeetingCoverage/DDW/39292.  On the chart, liver cirrhosis is mentioned as another ailment coffee may help prevent.liver

There’s a wonderful slide show of both the merits and drawbacks of coffee consumption at: http://www.medscape.com/features/slideshow/coffee?src=ptalk#12.  I urge you to see this for yourself. On this slideshow, not only are the benefits mentioned in the chart about Parkinson’s disease, gout, cancer, diabetes, and heart disease also noted, but there are also slides about improving glucose metabolism, promoting weight loss in the overweight (obviously, you need to drink more than the two cups a day I do), lessening of the risk of developing depression, slowing the progress of Hepatitis C, benefitting dry eye syndrome, and preventing MRSA infections (those are the antibiotic resistant ones).Coffee Beans_0

Coffee does initially raise blood pressure, but it also has the potential to lower it long term… one of life’s little dichotomies. Among the other drawbacks of my favorite beverage are the obvious ones: it can contribute to anxiety, insomnia and tremors (so that’s why my mother and her father had these.  Or was it the Parkinson’s disease that seems to run in the family?) Coffee can exacerbate withdrawal symptoms and there is the potential for it increasing the risk of glaucoma.

The article I liked the best during my research is at: http://bodyodd.nbcnews.com/_news/2012/11/20/15309215-coffee-helps-you-see-the-bright-side.  It offers a detailed explanation of how dopamine is elevated by drinking coffee.  In layman’s terms, that means coffee can make you feel good.  As a non-drinker, non-smoker, I can personally attest to the fact that my two cups of coffee per day make me feel great… and not simply in terms of energy.YGCnpYEUFRtlrF00_f9frLXF_JWiNWNHS9AVZmM1PxI

Talking about coffee, yesterday the Transplant Community Outreach from Facebook invited me to a lunch gathering of people from different parts of Arizona and California. I write KIDNEY MATTERS for the group so they knew I wasn’t a transplant.  I marveled as they ate pretty much whatever they wanted.  The conversations centered on their various transplants and other diseases, but it was so definitely not a pity party.  These people realized they were on their second or third chances and were enjoying life tremendously.  Thank you for inviting me, Janet Peralta.

Kidney educators are waiting to start their kidney education classes on the local Native American reservations.  I am still waiting to get them on the reservations.  If you can think of any access at all, please let me know.  There is nothing like saving a life… even indirectly.

The book has been introduced to British Columbia via Patti Telford and Colorado’s Evans Community Army Hospital via Deanna Leclair.  Thank you both for being the cause of these new avenues for getting the information where it’s needed.  And thank you LandmarkEducation for giving me the opportunity to get this information to places I hadn’t even realized it was needed.

Until next week,The Table

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/coffee-the-elixir-of-the-gods-or-did-i-just-make-that-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

