SlowItDown

I’m so involved with kidney projects that sometimes I forget other people – like readers – are not necessarily on the same page with me (like that writers’ turn of phrase?).  Luckily, people are not afraid to ask me what I’m talking about… and that’s exactly why this week’s blog is about SlowItDown.

Let’s start with the press release; that should introduce the project well:

 SlowItDown                                          CKDed@cox.net                                                            602-509-4965

kidney-book-cover

Chronic Kidney Disease is on the rise.  One of nine people in the mainstream has it and may not even know.  Blacks, Hispanics, Asians, and Native Americans have a much higher incidence of the disease in their communities. This disease cannot be cured, but it can be slowed down if you’re educated to do so.

SlowItDown is the product of a project created by Gail Rae-Garwood when she participated in a Landmark Worldwide leadership program. Landmark is a training and development company known for their flagship course The Landmark Forum (www.landmarkworldwide.com).

The project provides trained Chronic Kidney Disease educators from KidneySmart on a monthly basis at no cost to any community that needs it within the United States.  All the educators need is a place to hold their classes and permission to do so.  This is a self-sustaining program designed to reach the largest number of communities possible.

Ms. Rae-Garwood said, “I am also a Chronic Kidney Disease patient who just happens to be a non-fiction writer.  I’ve written a book (What Is It and How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease available at Amazon.com and B&N.com) so Chronic Kidney Disease patients can see how to manage their disease. I have a Facebook page, twitter account, and blog of the same name to disseminate information, but these still aren’t enough. Chronic Kidney Disease is serious… and I’m serious about getting the necessary education to the communities that need it. “

I may have mentioned a time or two that SlowItDown is now educating in the Salt River Pima – Maricopa Indian Community right here in Arizona.  We are also working with both the Burmese and Chinese communities locally in an effort to bringing the class to them.  An upcoming Wall Street Journal article about activists for their illnesses will include SlowItDown (and me!).  We’re getting the word out there, just too slowly for my taste.  Notice the address and phone number on the press release if you’d like SlowItDown to bring this education to your community or another you know needs the information.Salt River Great Seal

The following is SlowItDown’s proposal:

Chronic Kidney Disease is increasing at amazing speed. All aspects of the population are being diagnosed with this disease. Almost 59% of the U.S.A.’s population is expected to have it soon.

While Chronic Kidney Disease is not curable, the progress of the decline in kidney function caused by this disease can be slowed down.  But people need to be educated that this disease exists, how to be screened for it and then how to manage it so that they are not immediately on dialysis or at death’s door.  People can live for decades with Chronic Kidney Disease if they know how to manage it.

SlowItDown can provide trained Chronic Kidney Disease educators on a monthly basis at no cost.  All the educators need is a place to hold their classes and permission to do so.  This is a self-sustaining program designed to reach the largest number of people possible.

The educators will teach the basics, such as: what Chronic Kidney Disease is, how you get it, what the screening process is and – most importantly – how you slow down the progress of the disease via diet, medication, exercise, and weight control.

I am also a Chronic Kidney Disease patient who just happens to be a non-fiction writer.  I can easily mail you a copy of my book so you can see for yourself how Chronic Kidney Disease patients can manage their disease.  I have a Facebook page, twitter account, and blog of the same name (What Is It And How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease) to disseminate information, but these aren’t enough.

Chronic Kidney Disease is serious… and I’m serious about getting the necessary education to everyone who needs it.  SlowItDown now has its own Facebook and Twitter accounts, too.

We’re presently educating in the Salt River Pima – Maricopa Indian Community. With both the local Chinese and Burmese communities getting ready for this education.  You don’t have to be a member of a high risk group for this free education.  Although, sometimes all you have to do to be a member of a high risk community is be over 60 … like me.

Notice there’s even more information in it.  It’s beginning to make sense to me to reprint here  – in the blog – articles I’ve written about CKD.  I notice that each one has a little more or different information.  Keep checking SlowItDown and What Is It And How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease’s Twitter and Facebook pages for tidbits about our disease and other interesting medical information that just might pertain to us.

Book CoverTalking (okay, writing) about the book, I just realized it’s for sale in the United Kingdom, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Mexico, and Spain.  Thank you, Amazon.com!

It’s the holiday season.  What better time to talk (I know, I know: write) about Amazon’s Kindle MatchBook program, not that you haven’t read it here before.  Here’s the part I like – if you have EVER bought a copy of the print book, you are eligible to buy the digital book at 70% off.  Gift a newly diagnosed patient or his/her family and friends with knowledge about this disease.  I know that’s what helped me cope during that panicky time when it was all so new to me.

Personally, we have a lot to be thankful for.  Bear’s cast is off after six weeks as of this morning, neither he nor I have any lingering effects of the bronchitis for me/viral infection for him, our children are all healthy, our two almost son-in-laws are exactly who we would have chosen had we any say in the matter (Hah!), and we are looking forward to when he (Bear) can walk again.

I intend to have a banner week!  Join me?

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2013/12/09/slowitdown/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It is certainly shockingly open-handed of you to present publicly what
    exactly most of us would have advertised for an e-book to help make some dough on
    their own, most notably now that you could have tried it if you ever wanted.
    These points as well worked like a great way to realize that someone else have the identical eagerness like mine to realize more around this matter.

    I am certain there are numerous more enjoyable periods up front for individuals that read
    carefully your blog post.

    • Tristan, if we’ve both got CKD and I have information you need, I’d be a sorry excuse for a human if I didn’t share it with you. Sure profit is important, but not more important than your life… or mine. Think of the blog as my payback for all the help I’ve gotten whenever I needed it in the past.


Leave a Reply

