SlowItDown More

KwanzaaThe best way I can describe the way I think of this holiday season – Thanksgiving, Chanukah, Christmas, and Kwanzaa – is that it’s a reminder to share, to give, to donate… and that’s why this is another blog about SlowItDown.  Not all who read this blog have Chronic Kidney Disease (thank goodness), but most of you know someone who does, or know someone who knows someone who does, and so forth.  Some of you are doctors, work with doctors, or are patients of doctors. Share SlowItDown with them. Let’s see how many people we can educate about their own disease.  It gave me solace to learn just what was going on in my body and what I could do to help myself.  My hope is it will offer them the same.Christmas Tree KidneySteps.com is another kidney site.  Vicki Hulett, one of the authors of The Five Step Survival Guide for Diabetes, High Blood Pressure, and Dialysis, a kidney transplantee, and the administrator of the site was glad to help spread the word when I first instituted the SlowItDown project and offered to print an article about it if I’d like to write one.  Oh boy, did I! And here it is: I am part of an at risk community for Chronic Kidney Disease.  I’m over 60, not Black, not Hispanic, not Native American, just over 60. That’s enough to make me part of an at risk community. To make matters worse, 59% of the United States’ population is at risk for Chronic Kidney Disease… whether they are part of a high risk community or not. MenorahWhen I was first diagnosed, I was confused.  What is this?  How did I get this disease? I’d never heard of it before.  I contacted relatives near and far; no one had ever heard of this in the family before. I was scared, too.  Did this mean I was going to die? I couldn’t understand what my nephrologist was saying.  Nothing was getting in so I couldn’t respond to his, “Do you have any questions?” I went home and kept this a secret while I quietly mourned what I thought was my impending death. But not for long.  I’m a non-fiction writer and that means I can research.  So I did. ThanksgivingThen I wrote What Is It And How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease. You can see where I got the title.  I started doing book signings and book talks, then radio shows and I finally figured out a Facebook page and a Twitter account for the book would help disseminate the information. But it just wasn’t enough to get the information I’d needed out to the people who needed it now: the newly diagnosed. That’s when I began SlowItDown, a project to bring free Chronic Kidney Disease education by trained instructors to any community that needs it.  We were invited to the Salt River Pima – Maricopa’s Annual Men and Women’s Gathering and will be in the community once a month for ten months offering this education.  Both the Chinese Christian Community and the Burmese Community have asked us to present. I’d like to see SlowItDown in every community that needs it.  Let us know via our Facebook page which communities you’d like to see us help and I’ll contact them. If you know me at all, you know I didn’t stop there.  After the Salt River Pima – Maricopa Indian Community invited us to teach there, SlowItDown presented at their 4th Annual Men and Women’s Gathering.  There were members of several different tribes there who took the education back to their communities.  I donated books to a member of each of the tribes so they would have a reference right there in their hands when they went home again.Salt River Great Seal I’m still not done.  Right after the new year, there will be an ‘Encore’ article about SlowItDown in The Wall Street Journal.  More about that when I have the specific date.  I’ll be interviewed at onlinewithandrea, a web radio show, about SlowItDown in the early part of next year too.  Again, more about that when I have the specific date. The National Kidney Foundation calls upon me every so often to give interviews or write articles and, each time, SlowItDown is right there in the middle of it. kidney-book-coverSlowItDown is not only the name of the project; it’s the central idea behind the project… and the book. I urge you to take a minute and consider who knows someone, who knows someone else, who knows a third person who just might need to know that CKD is not necessarily a death sentence and that they can slow it down.  That’s the person who needs SlowItDown… and that person just might want to bring SlowItDown to their community. There’s still time (Look at me!  I’m a late night television commercial!!!) to gift someone who could use it with What Is It And How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease for the holidays.  Keep in mind that if you have EVER ordered the print copy of the book on Amazon.com, you get the digital copy at 70% off.  Who knows?  The book may persuade the specific community you’ve got in mind to go ahead and call me (623-266-2609) or contact me via the Facebook page or Twitter to arrange for those KidneySmart classes – taught by DaVita’s own Annette Folmer – to be brought to their community by SlowItDown. On the home front, I’m happy to report that no one has bronchitis, a viral infection, or the flu, and that Bear is healing nicely and can even try walking in just four more days.  Oh, happy day!  What makes this even better is that Lara and her sweetheart hosted everyone for Thanksgiving and that Sean and Kelly will be hosting the whole family for Christmas.  All I hosted this holiday season was a small neighborhood Chanukah party.  I was having such a good time at that I almost forgot about the latkes.  Good friends, good neighbors, wonderful family, and we almost have our health back.  Now I ask you, what more do we need? Until next week, Keep living your life!Book Cover

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2013/12/16/slowitdown-more/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

