I’m Tired.

baby-shots-5I’m tired.  I’m almost always tired.  That is my most prevalent complaint lately.  And why?  Because I have Chronic Kidney Disease, Stage 3A. I thought I remembered this particular symptom doesn’t appear until dialysis starts – at stage 5 – so I decided to re-research my research… and surprised myself with the results.

Just in case you don’t remember, I retired from teaching at the community college last February (right after my 66th birthday) and from acting a month later. Two careers down and a year older, I’m still tired. True, I do blog every week and work on SlowItDown.  However, it’s still two careers down.

I was becoming concerned.  According to Donna D. Ignatavicius, MS RN, and M. Linda Workman, Ph.D, authors of Medical-Surgical Nursing: Critical Thinking for Collaborative Care, I shouldn’t be.  They explain that patients with early symptoms of chronic renal failure may complain of a general feeling of illness and that lack of energy and fatigue are often reported without any identifiable cause.

By the way, the book is available on Amazon, but I cannot recommend it yet since I just ordered it.  More on that after I read it. Okay, so maybe my CKD hadn’t advanced and maybe I hadn’t developed diabetes. Maybe it was just the stage of CKD I was in.

I wanted to check with my old standby, The Mayo Clinic.  Their website told me: “Signs and symptoms of kidney disease may include:Location of Kidneys

  • Nausea
  • Vomiting
  • Loss of appetite
  • Fatigue and weakness
  • Sleep problems
  • Changes in urine output
  • Decreased mental sharpness
  • Muscle twitches and cramps
  • Hiccups
  • Swelling of feet and ankles
  • Persistent itching
  • Chest pain, if fluid builds up around the lining of the heart
  • Shortness of breath, if fluid builds up in the lungs
  • High blood pressure (hypertension) that’s difficult to control”

You can read more about these symptoms at: http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/kidney-disease/basics/symptoms/con-20026778

Wait a minute!  Where in heaven’s name was loss of appetite when you needed it!  Here I am with CKD, aging, exercising, following the renal diet, and not losing weight. I realize that sounds pretty shallow.  Let me explain.  My weight has always been a problem.  I’m not saying I WANT another symptom of CKD, but since I have CKD anyway, I would have preferred that symptom.

hiccupsI also had never questioned why I have hiccups so often.  Bear thought it was that I ate too fast, so I slowed down. (Hey, almost 45 years of running up to the fourth floor cafeteria, waiting in line, and then bolting down your food so you can get to the restroom and drop off your reports in the office three flights back down before teaching your next class doesn’t dissipate that quickly.  Long term habits….)

And why is fatigue a symptom of CKD in the first place?  I found the following at: http://www.kidneyabc.com/ckd-treatment/991.html (Which looks like it might just be a Chinese herbal site; it wasn’t quite clear.): “Fatigue in CKD (Chronic Kidney Disease) is most often caused by anemia in which the count of red blood cells are lower than normal. As red blood cells distribute oxygen to body tissues and cells, a shortage of oxygen can cause fatigue. Anemia begins in early stage of CKD, and tends to get worse as renal function decreases and less erythropoietin (EPO) is produced by kidneys.”

new blog shotThis is something that I explained in What Is It And How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease. I’ve been diagnosed with non-anemic low iron levels. Well, it’s nice to know I’m not anemic, but the low levels of iron produce the same fatigue. Why?

The National Kidney and Urologic Diseases. Information Clearinghouse at http://kidney.niddk.nih.gov/kudiseases/pubs/anemia/anemia_508.pdf explains: “Healthy kidneys produce a hormone called erythropoietin, or EPO, which stimulates the bone marrow to produce the proper number of red blood cells needed to carry oxygen to vital organs.  Diseased kidney, however, often don’t make enough EPO. As a result, the bone marrow makes fewer red blood cells.”

You can’t correct it by simply taking EPO injections.  It’s just not that simple.  To quote what I wrote in my book, “…EPO can worsen your HBP – which can both cause and be caused by CKD.  Most nephrologists agree it’s better to take the EPO injections and increase your HBP medication to control your hypertension. “

That was thought to be true when I researched for the book over three years ago, but since then the medical science community has discovered that synthetic EPO may be harmful to your body in that it may cause the body to produce antibodies for EOP.  Then your liver becomes involved, too, since it produces a small amount of EPO.flu

So, what can you do for this fatigue?  I went to the same Chinese herbal site because their recommendations were simply so logical.

“Regular exercises have many benefits for stage 3 CKD patients:

Boost your energy.

Improve your immune system.

Alleviate edema.

Lower high blood pressure.

Aerobic exercises such as walking, jogging, dancing, swimming, etc. are preferred. And remember to avoid strenuous exercises.”

How can you argue with that?  I couldn’t, especially since dancing is included!

happy birthdayThank you all for your birthday wishes.  I like to respond to each of you individually and hope I haven’t missed anyone.  Let me know if I have. It was a lovely day with the kids, and neighbors helping me celebrate, as well as my long distance friends emailing, snail mailing, Facebook inboxing, and texting.  I truly feel cherished by those in my communities.

I also believe I’ve gotten across to the French division of Amazon by writing in English and letting them translate it instead of giving in to my own misguided insistence upon using my fractured French.  Take a look for yourself by going to Amazon’s website, scrolling down to the bottom of the page where the different countries of operation are listed, hitting France, and inputting the title of the book – in English.

I’m tired… time to take a rest.

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2014/02/03/im-tired/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

