Another Holiday

Holidays abound! Or maybe it just feels that way. No sooner did my Russian Jewish almost son-in-law and I co-host our Seder then it was time to get ourselves together for Easter. Sometimes it’s a lot of work to have such an integrated family.

passover This time, no one stepped up to bat and I soon found out why. Another almost son-in-law had minor surgery, but was still in pain and not ready for people. A third adult child had weekend guests and had to work Sunday evening. But one couple wanted an Easter celebration.

So I quickly figured out that I could go to the weekly Sustainable Blues dance lesson that my youngest, Abby Wegerski, taught every week AND make dinner for these adult children if I planned carefully. That’s when I realized I wasn’t weighing and measuring or looking at my renal diet Bible before cooking. All the ingredients I needed were renal friendly and readily available in our house.blues

What a relief! It took almost seven years for this information and this way of being to become part of me. The point here is that the renal diet has become a way of life, one I don’t often think about too much anymore. I can easily remember a time I needed to pull out the diet list to see what I could eat, then another list to see if the protein, potassium, phosphorous, or sodium (3 Ps and and S, as I call them in What Is It And How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease) levels were too high and finally the KidneyDiet app to make sure I hadn’t gone over my limits for each of these and a calorie count.

This wonderful revelation doesn’t mean that I don’t hit my own ‘refresh’ button periodically to make sure I really am correctly eye judging the amounts of each food I use in cooking and eating or that I don’t need to occasionally check to see if I’m right about the amount of whatever is in it.

I still carry all three of these – Northern Arizona Council on Renal Nutrition Diet, AAKP Nutrition Counter, and KidneyDiet app – as my talismen. There’s a certain security in knowing I have them if I need them. I also find that sometimes I just don’t remember exactly what I read in each, so it’s a comfort to have them at hand.Book Cover In Chapter 8: The Renal Diet of What Is It And How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease, I offer an example of the intricate and annoyingly painstaking little notebook I devised to keep track of my CKD nutrition. Ladies and Gentlemen: I am pleased (for CKD sufferers) to announce this is now obsolete!!!

One of the very first apps I purchased was KidneyDiet. It is not the same as my little notebook, but works equally well. The only thing it doesn’t do is tell you if you’ve reached your daily limit in each category of food (milk, meat or meat substitutes, grains, fruits, vegetables, and fats).

android_welcomeYou’re an intelligent person. You can figure out just by looking at a display of your entries if you’ve had your one four ounce serving of milk, five ounces of meat or meat substitutes, however many servings of grain (depends upon your sex, weight, and whether or not you want to lose weight), your three servings each of fruits and vegetables and your fill of fat intake. You’re the one entering your limits (as prescribed by your dietician), and they show up red if you’ve gone over them. Calories and cholesterol are also included, as is fluid intake. The nicest part is that if there’s a food you like which isn’t on the pre-existing list that comes with the app, you can add it. Do that once and you have the information for that food every time you enter it.

No, I do not own stock in the KidneyDiet app, although that might not be such a bad idea. I am thrilled that life keeps getting easier for us as CKD patients. I know I’ve written about the app before, but each time I use it, I’m grateful for how it’s made my life easier.

Wait a minute! I just realized the next holiday on the calendar is Mother’s Day. This should be interesting because I’m not cooking for that. If Bear does, no problem. He knows my dietary restrictions almost as well as I do. But if it’s one of the kids, especially one of the newer additions to the family…. Maybe it’s time to be more stringent when they ask me what I can eat, or better yet, tell them in advance.

When we went to Florida and stayed with my brother, Paul, and sister-in-law, Judy Peck (she of the magnificent cooking), Judy asked me what I could eat. So I sent her the renal diet I follow. It was overwhelming to her, just as it is to new CKD patients. As usual, she successfully simplified the matter. By asking me what I could eat instead of adhering to the list, she saved herself from having to pick and choose from a double sided page of dietary restrictions and I (of course) only told her the foods Bear and I liked. The moral of the story: everyone was happy once this was briefly discussed. photo (2)

The theme of today’s blog is that life is becoming easier for CKD patients but we’ve got to keep talking, keep exchanging ideas, keep each other updated about new information. CKD is part of me now, but it sure isn’t all of me.

About keeping each other informed: The Free Health Screening by Path to Wellness is on Saturday, 4/26 from 8:30 to 1:30 at The Golden Gate Community Center 1625 N. 30th Ave. in Phoenix, Az. While it is free you need to call for an appointment – the number if you speak English is 602 840 1644. For Spanish speakers, the number is 602 845 7905. You must be over 18 and have a family member with diabetes, heart or kidney disease, or have diabetes or high blood pressure yourself.

Have you looked at Dr. Mario Trucillo’s American Recall Center (www. recallcenter.com)? That was the site discussed in last week’s blog. I’d be interested to hear what you think of it.

I challenged myself to create a business card for SlowItDown doing all the formatting and graphics myself.  This is the final product:SlowItDown business card

Feedback?

 

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2014/04/21/another-holiday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

