Awwww, Do I Have To?

 

blues

That, ladies and gentlemen, is my internal dialogue every day when it’s time to exercise… except when my exercise for the day is Sustainable Blues at the Blooze Bar on Sundays at 5. (32 St.  & Cactus, just in case you were thinking of flying out to Phoenix, Arizona, to join us.)

Here’s a link to a YouTube showing me dancing there, after the lesson, with the charming Robert Mullen: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3XFAd6eh1MA. Just copy and paste it into your search function.

Anyway, back to the answer to my question. My answer to myself is inevitably a resounding, YES!!! Okay, I know I have Chronic Kidney Disease – still holding at stage 3, thank you very much – and need to exercise to slow down the progression of the disease.  But why?  I mean, how does that help?

I’m going to quote heavily from What Is It And How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease here. I’ve already done the research to answer the question but, quite frankly, have forgotten what I found. It’s in the book.Book signing

Got your digital edition pulled up on your reading device so you can do a phrase search?  Great.  For those using the print version of the book (OMG, I feel like I’m teaching college again.), let’s turn to page 100 in Chapter 10: Getting the Necessary Exercise.

I knew exercise was important to control my weight.  It would also improve my blood pressure and lower my cholesterol and triglyceride levels. The greater your triglycerides, the greater the risk of increasing your creatinine.  There were other benefits, too, although you didn’t have to have CKD to enjoy them: better sleep, and improved muscle function and strength. But, as with everything else you do that might impinge upon your health, check with your doctor before you start.

I researched, researched and researched again.  Each explanation of what exercise does for the body was more complicated than the last one I read.  Keeping it simple, basically, there’s a compound released by voluntary muscle contraction.  It tells the body to repair itself and grow stronger. The idea is to start exercising slowly and then intensify your activity.

  Yikes!  There are some terms there those of you without the book may not know.  Here’s a little glossary for you:

blood pressure 300dpi jpgBlood pressure: the pressure exerted by the blood against the walls of blood vessels. Blood pressure depends on the strength of the heartbeat, thickness and
volume of the blood, the elasticity of the artery walls, and general health. (Encarta Dictionary)

Cholesterol: while the basis for both sex hormones and bile, can cause blockages if it accumulates in the lining of a blood vessel. (What Is It And How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease)

Creatinine: chemical waste product that’s produced by our muscle metabolism and to a smaller extent by eating meat. (MayoClinic.org)

Triglycerides: a type of fat found in your blood. Too much of this type of fat may raise the risk of coronary artery disease, especially in women. (Medline Plus)

I’ve used different sources for the definitions so as to bring you the most easily understood ones.  After all, we’re not doctors here.GFR

Okay, I get it.  Exercise is absolutely necessary since CKD prevents your body from adequately filtering wastes – like creatinine – from itself.

Now my task was to find more exercise that I don’t mind doing… like blues dancing. Even though I seem to be dancing at half time, I come out of the bar thoroughly soaked despite the air conditioning.  That’s my personal indicator for effective exercise.

After almost a year (Bear’s surgery and recuperation, remember?) we went to the gun range yesterday.  I had decided several years back that I no longer want to compete, even though the Single Action Shooters’ Society competitions were fun to a point, but I did still want to target shoot.Rae%208x10%205792%20Sepia%20TinType[1]

On a whim, I started playing with the internet to see if target shooting burned enough calories to be considered exercise.

Whoopee!  It does!  It burns almost as many calories as half an hour on the stationary bike and uses a whole bunch of different muscles.  Don’t believe me?  Take a look at the calorie counter at: http://www.fitday.com/webfit/burned/calories_burned_Pistol_shooting_or_trap_shooting_standing.html.  Oh goody, another exercise I enjoy.

I have to admit that I enjoy the stationary bike, too, IF one of ‘my’ shows is on TV or I have a good book.  I’m wondering how long I can do this type of exercise, though, since my knees have started declaring their presence in a demanding, non-loving way. Enter knee supports.

And, yes, I still do the Leslie Sansone Walking Tapes I described in the book, but you’ve got to remember that your body becomes accustomed to a certain kind of exercise and then it isn’t as effective anymore… and I was wearing knee supports for this, too.

water walkingI do the water walking I wrote about a few blogs back (no knee supports) as often as I can.  Of course, no sooner did I decide I liked it then monsoon season started here.  It’s certainly not as bad as it’s been in years past, but I’m still not going into a pool when there’s rain.  And then, there are the haboobs (dust storms).  No thanks, I’ll find some kind of indoor exercise if there’s a warning for one of those.

By the way, we are not alone in exercising more.  We may do it because we have to, but the whole country is interested in exercising lately. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention eNews headline of 5/15/14, “Neighborhood Support of Physical Activity on the Rise.”

I’ll be publishing this blog from New York where we will have traveled to see family and friends.  I’ve already got it figured out.  We’ll be gone eight days, so I’m taking the knee supports and plan to walk my brains out.

And stairs!  New York buildings have loads of stair.  My brother actually lives on the 11th floor of his building.  I could walk up to his apartment!

Well, unless another, more fun opportunity for exercise presents itself. I wonder if dragging two big pieces of luggage on rollers count?

Until next week (when I’ll be back in lovely monsoony, habooby Arizona),

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2014/08/04/awwww-do-i-have-to/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

