Sleepus Interruptus

I just started – and trashed – three different versions of what I thought today’s blog would be about because I didn’t understand the research.  That’s the trouble with not being a doctor, and why I always remind you to speak with your nephrologist before you take anyone’s advice about your Chronic Kidney Disease, even mine.

I finally decided to write about my first choice.  This is yet another indication that our hunches are right.  My hunch after a night of waking up just about every hour was to write about CKD and interrupted sleep.  I should have listened to myself and saved all that time.baby-shots-5

DaVita.com at http://www.davita.com/kidney-disease/overview/living-with-ckd/sleep-issues-and-chronic-kidney-disease/e/4896 tells us there are several reasons CKD patients have sleep problems:

  • restless leg syndrome
  • sleep apnea
  • inadequate dialysis clearance
  • emotions
  • changes in sleep patterns
  • caffeine

We share most of these reasons with those who do not have CKD except for those dealing with dialysis.  This includes the inadequate dialysis clearance.  It also includes restless leg syndrome which is usually associated with hemodialysis session. Since I only write about early stage, I won’t be discussing these causes.

Let’s talk about sleep apnea.  I wrote a blog about on August 12, 2012 that refers to this.  The most important information from that blog is:

“I found a study at http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/538872which clearly links

sleep apnea and hypertension. Dr. John J. Sim makes the connection very clear:

‘We think there may be a causative factor here; that sleep apnea may be causing directGlomerulus-Nephron 300 dpi jpg

 glomerular injury,’ Dr. John J. Sim (Kaiser Permanente, Los Angeles, CA) told renalwire .

‘We already know that sleep apnea causes hypertension and that hypertension causes

kidney disease.’ If some degree of causality can be shown, it’s possible that treating sleep

 apnea may slow the progression of kidney disease, the authors speculate.”

This particular study was conducted in 2005.

Obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) was also the subject of January 13, 2014’s blog.  That’s where the following information is from:

“Have I ever told you I have sleep apnea?  And that this affects CKD patients? I do and it

does. According to http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20676805, one of the National

Institutes of Health’s sites, sleep apnea can raise blood pressure, which in itself is one of

the problems of CKD.  It can also result in glomerular hyperfiltration.”

This is from a 2010 study.

madOkay, so I have sleep apnea, had a sleep study and started wearing a Mandibular Advancement Device (MAD) at night to correct the problem, yet I still experience interrupted sleep.

Hmmmm, what is this ‘changes in sleep patterns’? Oh, of course.  Because I have CKD, I become more tired and even drowsy during the day.  Maybe I’ll sit on the couch in the family room to read for a bit; maybe I’ll even lay down there; and maybe – just maybe – I’ll fall asleep during the day.  Nothing wrong with naps, but if they’re long naps they could interfere with your sleep pattern.

So can going to bed earlier.  I tried that on really tired days and ended up waking up repeatedly.  I do go right back to sleep, but it just didn’t seem restful. Keep in mind that as you age, your sleep cycles are lighter and shorter.  So I may think I’m getting all the sleep I need, but the waking up interrupts the cycling of the different stages of sleep and then I start the cycles all over again.

WebMD at http://www.webmd.com/sleep-disorders/guide/sleep-101 tells us,

Victorian clock“During the deep stages of NREM sleep, the body repairs and regenerates tissues, builds

bone and muscle, and appears to strengthen the immune system. As you get older, you

sleep more lightly and get less deep sleep. Aging is also associated with shorter time spans

of sleep, although studies show the amount of sleep needed doesn’t appear to diminish

   with age.”

Uh-oh, the deep stages of NREM (non-rapid eye movement) sleep are stages 3 and 4 which I may be missing by constantly waking up.  These are also the stages during which the body restores itself.

Emotions?  I can see that.  I dwell on the family’s medical problems, or someone I know and love who is out of work, or even my sweet Bella’s brush with cancer and I can get myself truly worked up.  So I don’t.  I mean I don’t think about these things at bedtime.  If I can’t seem to get them out of my head, I write a list of things to think about tomorrow.  As simplistic as it sounds, it works for me.  This is one piece of advice you don’t need to check with your nephrologist.

Wait a minute!  Who included my beloved caffeine on this list?????? This is where I get emotional.  Those two cups of caffeine a day are the only item on my renal diet that help me not feel deprived.  Okay, maybe we do need to be a bit rational about this (Don’t you just hate to be a grown up sometimes?).

This is what The National Sleep Foundation at http://sleepfoundation.org/sleep-topics/caffeine-and-sleep has to offer us about caffeine and sleep:

“Caffeine enters the bloodstream through the stomach and small intestine and can

have a stimulating effect as soon as 15 minutes after it is consumed. Once in the body,CoffeeCupPopCatalinStock

caffeine will persist for several hours: it takes about 6 hours for one half of the caffeine

to be eliminated.”

Six hours for only half to be eliminated?  You mean, twelve hours for all of it to be eliminated?  I have got to stop drinking caffeine after noon. Okay, I can learn to live with that.  Heck, it’s better than no coffee at all.

Hopefully these suggestions will take care of my interrupted sleep problems.  Now what about yours?  Remember to speak with your nephrologist if you want to explore any of my suggestions.  As far as the emotions causing sleep problems, if my trick doesn’t work for you and you feel you need professional help with your emotions, please get it.

Here’s my last suggestion: buy a copy of What Is It and How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease before Moderate Stage Chronic Kidney Disease: The Book of Blogs is published. Then you’ll have the set of two.Book signing

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2014/09/22/sleepus-interruptus/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

