Put your Back into It for a Few Minutes

You can always tell what’s troubling me by the topic of each week’s blog.  This week it turns out I have “irritated disks.”  I kid you not.  It actually makes sense since Bear has some ruptured disks that won’t be treated until Friday and I’ve taken over his chores for a while.bad back

Let’s go back to the very beginning to explain this one. Here’s the definition I’ll be using for disk,

“Fibrocartilaginous material between spinal vertebrae which

 provides a cushion-like support against shock”

Thank you, McGraw-Hill Concise Dictionary of Modern Medicine for that.

Here we go again: a definition that needs another definition to understand the first definition.  Naturally you’d want to know what fibrocartilage is. According to Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, it’s

“Cartilage that consists of dense fibers.”

Hang on there.  We need one more definition. I went to MedicineNet at http://www.news-medical.net/health/Cartilage-What-is-Cartilage.aspx for this definition of cartilage.

“….It is a firm tissue but is softer and much more flexible than bone.”

So we have soft, firm, flexible, dense fiber material between our spinal vertebrae.

Our what?  Vertebrae is

pic_backbone_side“a bone of the spinal column, typically consisting of a thick body, a bony arch enclosing a hole for the spinal cord, and stubby projections that connect with adjacent bones.”

 You can learn more about this by searching The Encarta Dictionary.

For the definition of spinal column (and you thought we were done with definitions), I chose to use Collins Dictionary at http://www.collinsdictionary.com/dictionary/english/spinal-column. There I found this definition:

“A series of contiguous or interconnecting bony or cartilaginous segments that surround and protect the spinal cord.”

I used to tell my children when they were little and my back hurt that the stuff between my vertebrae that acts as a cushion wasn’t cushioning right. Simple, direct, and to the point. Apparently I’m on the verge of that again. And I WILL stop it before it gets any worse.

How, you ask?  My chiropractor suggested ice for twenty minutes, then take it off for an hour and repeat… and repeat… and repeat.  With Chronic Kidney Disease, I need the daily exercise to keep my organs – all of them – strong, especially since CKD can eventually affect your other organs.  It’s our not-quite-filtered blood that feeds these organs, so we need to keep them healthy in as many ways as we can.

The icing is helping, but I have re-discovered my inability to do nothing for twenty minutes at a time.

So far, I’ve made sure to wear the dental device that helps my mandible return to normal placement after a night of wearing the Mandibular Advancement Device that treats my sleep iPadapnea.  I’ve also used the twenty minute to peruse Twitter, email, and Facebook for kidney information via iPad.  I’ve even done my banking online in this same twenty minutes.

As you can see, every minute of my time is important to me.  That’s why I was so glad to find new information that every minute you exercise counts.  Obviously with my back sort-of- injury (I don’t consider it an injury unless I can’t walk!), I’ve had to limit my exercise.

That’s the bane of my existence anyway… not the limiting, but the exercise. I usually ride five or six miles on the stationary bike or do a two mile walking tape with weights and stretch bands. I have to admit, I do it only because I have to.  I’d rather read or write anytime.

Although, I love my Sunday night exercise: the blues dance lesson my daughter, Abby Wegerski, and her partner provide at The Blooze Bar.  If you haven’t been there yet and you’re local, why not?  It’s downright fun!

blues dancersBack to every minute of exercise counts (Hurray!) This is the first paragraph of the news article about this study published on September 13 of this year.  You can tell right away why I like it.

“A new study suggests something encouraging for busy people: Every minute of movement counts toward the 150 minutes of moderate-intensity physical activity we’re all supposed to be getting each week. University of Utah researchers found that each minute spent engaging in some kind of moderate to vigorous physical activity was associated with lower BMI and lower weight.”

I have to admit I don’t break down that 150 minutes each week into daily totals when I think about exercise and it’s overwhelming.  Break it down and it’s only a little less than 22 minutes a day. Hey, that’s MY 22 minutes a day.

So what do they mean by “moderate-intensity physical exercise”?  I specifically looked at other than what we’d already consider exercise which can be incorporated into your everyday activities.

I park a little further away from my destination than I need to whenever I drive somewhere.  If I’m not able to walk too well that day due to plantar fasciitis, I’ll chop vegetables or mix my from scratch pancake batter by hand.  If my hands hurt from arthritis or neuropathy that day, I’ll play with Bella – the cancer free wonder dog.IMAG0269 (1)

Wait a minute, these are all suggestions made in the study. And better yet, they count toward my 150 minutes of exercise a week.  I like the idea that you don’t have to chuck the whole idea of exercise if you don’t have time to go to the gym, or climb your friendly, local mountain, or ride a bike 10 miles.

I know it’s hard to believe, so I’d suggest you take a look at the article about the study yourself at http://www.nbcnews.com/health/diet-fitness/every-minute-physical-activity-really-does-count-new-study-shows-f8C11042850 I especially like that my five minutes of rigorous dancing or riding the bike or exercising to those walking tapes count.  Well, my five minutes usually turns into more since I figure I’ve started so I might as well finish my twenty minutes or thirty minutes of exercise that day.

Book wise, I’m hard at work on The Book of Blogs, but have no finish date yet since I really don’t want to do any work when my beloved brother and sister-in-law are here for the two weeks I convinced them to stay.  Just one more week, just one more week. I’m like a child awaiting Santa!

Book CoverWhat Is It And How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease is alive and well.  There just may be a European book signing tour in the spring for this book.  We’re contemplating Germany, Amsterdam, and London.  Readers, please let me know if you’re from these countries.

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2014/10/13/put-your-back-into-it-for-a-few-minutes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

