Sunshine and Superwoman

sad womanToday is just one of those days: Bear’s car is in the shop so I got up early to take him to work, I turned on the dishwasher and nothing happened, I posted what I thought was a non-political message and got a political rant in return, answered a text only to find that my childhood friend thought I was ignoring her.  I’ve got a pretty happy life, so this was a disconcerting start of the day to say the least.

And then I opened the lab results for yet another blood test.  The one I wrote about two weeks ago was from August; this one is from last week. Should have saved it for tomorrow.

While the out of range results weren’t that much out of range, they were out of range.  Since this is one of those days, all of a sudden this became of great concern to me.

The Vitamin D, 25-Hydroxy, Total was 28.6 instead of within the 30.1 -100 normal range.  It would probably help you understand my mystification if I let you know that I’ve been taking 2000 mg. of vitamin D daily for several years.

I went running right back to What Is It and How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease to find out why this is important.  Thank goodness, I have my office copy!  How could anyone memorize everything they need to know about their health, I wonder.Book Cover

This is what I wrote about vitamin D (page 48):

  • The kidneys produce calcitrol which is the active form of vitamin D. The kidneys are the organs that transfer this vitamin from your food and skin [sunshine provides it to your skin] into something your body can use.
  • Both vitamin D and calcium are needed for strong bones. It is yet another job of your kidneys to keep your bones strong and healthy.
  • Should you have a deficit of Vitamin D, you’ll need to be treated for this, in addition for any abnormal level of calcium or phosphates. The three work together.
  • Vitamin D enables the calcium from the food you eat to be absorbed in the body. CKD may leech the calcium from your bones and body.
  • Phosphate levels can rise since this is stored in the blood and the bones as is calcium.  With CKD, it’s hard to keep the phosphate levels normal, so you may develop itchiness since the concentration of urea builds up and begins to crystallize through the skin. This is called pruritus.

I have been itchy lately, but since my phosphate levels have never been out of range, I concluded it was just dry skin due to our low to nil humidity here in Arizona.  Maybe it’s not.  We’d been keeping my calcium levels low – but in range – since a bout with kidney stones several years ago. I also definitely stay out of the sun, another source of vitamin D, since a

sun-graphic1pre-cancerous face lesion. I’d had a bone density test recently and that was just fine, but had I been doing all the wrong things for my kidney health in protecting myself from kidney stones and melanoma?

Something was nagging at me about vitamin D, so I turned to the glossary of my book (page 136) and that’s where I found it:

“Vitamin D: Regulates calcium and phosphorous blood levels as well as promoting bone formation, among other tasks – affects the immune system.”

Affects the immune system.  But how?  Science Daily at http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/03/100307215534.htm provided the answer I sought:

“Scientists have found that vitamin D is crucial to activating our immune defenses and that without sufficient intake of the vitamin – the killer cells of the immune system — T cells — will not be able to react to and fight off serious infections in the body. The research team found that T cells first search for vitamin D in order to activate and if they cannot find enough of it will not complete the activation process.”

How did I miss that?  And how many others knew that vitamin D didn’t just build strong bones as we’d been taught in primary school?

nsaidsI imagine my nephrologist will up my vitamin d dosage when I see him next week, but I still can’t handle the sun or take calcium supplements.  Maybe there’s some food that can provide vast quantities of this vitamin.

But no, according to the National Institutes of Health at http://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/VitaminD-HealthProfessional/:

“Vitamin D is a fat-soluble vitamin that is naturally present in very few foods, added to others, and available as a dietary supplement.”

Well, I wanted to know what those foods were even if they could only provide 20% of the needed vitamin d at most.  I clearly remembered salmon, tuna, and egg yolks, but what else?  Mushrooms, of course.  And???

I had to turn to the internet for more suggestions. Fit Day at http://www.fitday.com/fitness-articles/nutrition/vitamins-minerals/5-foods-rich-in-vitamin-d.html informs us that milk, cereal, and even orange juice are vitamin d fortified. For me, that’s a joke.  I’m lactose intolerant, don’t like cereal, and o.j. has too much calcium in it.

I like fish, but two to three times a week?  I’m not sure I want to spend my five ounces of protein that way so often during a week.  I don’t care for eggs much, but am willing to eat them once a week just to eat something healthy. Mushrooms are really tasty, but my ¼ cup doesn’t go very far.

You know, just from moving myself to write, it doesn’t seem like such a bad day after all.IMG_0058

Which leads me to a thought I want to share: action is the road out of unhappiness.  I’m sure someone has thought of that before, but I own it now.  To that end, I’m working on The Book of Blogs and two other long time writing projects as well as having committed myself to Landmark Worldwide’s Wisdom Course.

Of course I still take the time to exercise (ugh!), sleep, and rest, but these projects are fun… and they make me happy.  We are capable of so much more than we think we are.

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2014/10/20/sunshine-and-superwoman/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

