Auld Lang … Ah Choo!

Happy middle of Kwanzaa.  I hope your Hanukkah, Christmas, or whatever else you may celebrate that I don’t know about was merry, too. Ours was…maybe even too merry.  Even with cutting out overt sugar and dairy and sticking to the renal diet, I felt like I was getting sick.  Too much running around?  The stress of this happy season?  Who knows, but there it was.Kwanzaa

One of my daughters heard it in my voice and asked me why I just didn’t take Airborne and nip whatever this was in the bud.  I knew I couldn’t, but I’d forgotten why.  Hello, today’s blog. This is not a blog to vilify this product, but one to inform you why we – as Chronic Kidney Disease patients – cannot take any product of this ilk.

Let’s start at the beginning.  According to their website at http://www.airbornehealth.com/how-it-works, this is the short list of what’s in Airborne.

Vitamins and Minerals

  • Vitamin C: Antioxidants that go to work on the cellular level to quench free radicals and support cellular health.  Vitamin C also supports the function of immune cells throughout your body.
  • Vitamin E:Naturally-occurring antioxidant nutrients that inactivate harmful free radicals
  • Vitamin A:Phyto-nutrients that work as antioxidants, on the cellular level, to promote immunity and protect DNA
  • Zinc: An essential nutrient that works as a trigger for over 200 different enzymes and supports the number and function of several different immune cells.
  • Selenium, Manganese, Magnesium: All minerals that support immunity

airborneOkay, so what is the problem here? I needed more information since their website called this the “short list,” so I marched into my pharmacy, took a look at the ingredients, and physically backed up.

I already knew that Vitamin C could promote kidney stones and that I was prone to those, having already had one.  Wait a minute. 1633% of the daily value?  We all know I’m not a doctor, but that sounds like asking for a kidney stone to me.

This is not to say you need to completely avoid Vitamin C.  You need it; just not in such high doses.  The per cent I quoted above is for one dose, but the instructions for Airborne direct you take this up to three times a day.  In other words, triple that percentage.

Backtrack time.  This is why you need this particular vitamin.

Vitamin C, also known as ascorbic acid, is necessary for the growth, development and repair of all body tissues. It’s involved in many body functions, including formation of collagen, absorption of iron, the immune system, wound healing, and the maintenance of cartilage, bones, and teeth.

Vitamin C is one of many antioxidants that can protect against damage caused by harmful molecules called free radicals, as well as toxic chemicals and pollutants like cigarette smoke. Free radicals can build up and contribute to the development of health conditions such as cancer, heart disease, and arthritis.

Thank you to WebMD at http://www.webmd.com/diet/features/the-benefits-of-vitamin-c?page=3 for that information.

Potassium caught my eye right away, too. That’s something I need to limit as a CKD patient, so why would I want to add extra?  Maybe if I had a deficiency I would, but this is not usually the case with us. I relied on What Is It and How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease to remind myself just what this is and why it’s important.

One of the electrolytes, important because

it counteracts sodium’s effect on blood pressure.Book Cover

This is not looking so good, is it?

Uh-oh, it has 10% of your daily value for sodium… for one serving.  Multiply that by three and you get a whopping 30% or 690 mg. of salt/day.  Hmmm, I’m only permitted 1500 mg. daily.  This accounts for getting close to 50% of my daily sodium allotment.

On mykidney.com {A kidney blog which seems to be defunct now.} at http://mykidney.com/06032008-1, Krissi – the writer of the blog – has the following to say about Airborne’s Vitamin E content.

If taken as recommended, “Airborne” will provide 300% of the safe daily dose. And like Vitamin A, Vitamin E is also a fat-soluble vitamin and can quickly build up into toxic levels.

However, the ‘safe daily dose’ for a CKD or ESRD patient is only 8-10mg per day. Just one dose of Airborne actually provides not 300%, but 900% of the safe daily dose for kidney patients.Airborne pix

Back to me here. Notice the herbal ingredients listed at the bottom of the label. What amounts of each are in one dosage?  How about in three? And just what do they do to your kidneys? Did you notice that the FDA was in no way involved with this product? And why no clinical studies?

Well, now I know why I can’t take Airborne or any other product like it and so do you.

Whoa!  Did you know about this?

Airborne Health, a Bonita Springs, Fla.-based herbal supplements firm, has agreed to pay $23.3 million to settle a class-action lawsuit brought against the company for falsely claiming its vitamins prevented colds.

Now, let’s be fair here.  This was back in 2008.  You can read the entire New York Times article at http://www.nytimes.com/inc_com/inc1204579617407.html  Checking into any changes to their formula since then, I could only find changes in their advertising from ‘miracle cold cure’ to ‘immunity booster,’ but not for us.  We can’t handle all the extra bursts of all that good stuff.

new-years-eve-celebrations-live-streamOh my!  This is the last blog for 2014.  May your new year bring everything you want for yourself… including the best health you can achieve.  I always say go for 150%. I wonder if that’s to ensure you reach 100%.

This is also the last blog to be included in the new book The Book of Blogs: Moderate Stage Chronic Kidney Disease.  Don’t look for it yet since it still needs to be edited, but soon.  That’s my New Year’s present to myself.  There’s also another radio interview coming up in March, but we’ve got plenty of time to talk about that.

Until next week,

No, until next year,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2014/12/29/auld-lang-ah-choo/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

