Paint on My Nails

I am happy to say that we have had quite a few celebrations lately.  Abby successfully changed careers from insurance to municipal funding.  Lara was promoted to the first female Krav Maga head instructor in Phoenix. Nima started her New York tour company (Spellbound… give her a call.). firworksOne of my son-in-laws changed careers, too, and is now the CEO of an established firm.  Oh, and The Book of Blogs: Moderate Stage Chronic Kidney Disease, Part 1 was published.

Having four grown daughters now and in the throes of Macular Degeneration which is now at the point of I-can’t-see-my-nails-clearly-enough-to-do-them-myself (Why, oh why, couldn’t it be I-can’t-see-the-dishes-clearly-enough-to-do-them-myself instead?), I caved.  I don’t really like anyone fussing with any part of my body, but I wanted to look really nifty for each of these celebrations.  So I went for a manicure/pedicure again…and again…and again… and then I got to thinking.

Indeed, there is a relationship between Chronic Kidney Disease and nail polish, but it isn’t exactly what I expected.  I scurried right over to DaVita at http://www.davita.com/kidney-disease/overview/symptoms-and-diagnosis/hair,-nails-and-chronic-kidney-disease/e/  and found the following.

Nitrogen waste products build up in people with CKD, which can lead to damaged fingernails and toenails. Show your doctor if you have any abnormal change in your nails such as:

  • Yellow or opaque coloring
  • Brittle nails
  • Pitted nails (can easily break off or fall off)painted nails
  • Linear depressions across the fingernail (called Beau’s lines)
  • Ridge-shaped nails
  • Raised ridges, thin and concave shaped (called koilonychia)
  • White streaks, spots on the nails (called leukonychia)

It’s clear you can’t see these damage indicators if you can’t see your nails.  All right then, maybe I could have my nails done for the occasions, then take off the polish or the gel tips after.  Would that work for me, I wondered?

The concern over the chemicals found in nail polishes—and gel manicures—are {sic} not new, but the link to cancer, however, is. In a recent article published in the  Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, Chris Adigun, M.D., an assistant professor of dermatology at NYU School of Medicine, emphasized the dangers of frequent use of gel manicures.  ”The essential UV light required during the application of the gel is a risk factor for skin cancer,” wrote Dr. Adigun.  “[And] in general, any manicure left in place for an extended period of time is not a good idea Journal of American Dermatologybecause you are a not seeing what is going on underneath the nail polish,” he says.

Frequent gel manicures can lead to nail thinning, brittleness, peeling, and cracking. Or worse, gel polish can hide nail discolorations that can signal various lung, heart, kidney {my italics} and liver diseases, as well as diabetes and anemia.

VidaVibrante.com at http://www.vidavibrante.com/2013/08/19/gel-manicures-when-too-much-of-a-good-thing-is-bad-for-your-health/  is not a site for CKD patients specifically, nor is it a medical site.  Yet, that’s where I found the above medical cautions. This is not looking good.

I was surprised to find that WebMD at http://www.webmd.com/beauty/nails/20120411/is-your-nail-polish-toxic had this information.

In recent years, some nail product makers have removed these chemicals {This refers to dibutyl phthalate, toluene, and formaldehyde.} from their products, then labeled them as non-toxic.

“What we found out is that in many of the cases the label was inaccurate,” Lang tells WebMD. “And that’s really what our message is. We don’t know if our samples are representative of the industry.”

Some products that did not carry a toxic-free label actually had none of the chemicals in them, the researchers also found.

Encarta Dictionary tells us toluene istoulene

a colorless liquid aromatic hydrocarbon resembling benzene, but less flammable. Use: solvent, high-octane fuel, organic synthesis.

And we put that on our nails?  Willingly?  I think that’s the end of thinking about gel tips for me, but does it mean I have to give up this new practice of having my nails done entirely?  Even for special occasions?  Oh, okay, lots of special occasions.

Ummm, so what – if any – brands are safe? I jumped over to EcoWatch at http://ecowatch.com/2014/02/19/7-nontoxic-nail-polish-brands/ for some brands. Zoya, Piggypaint, Suncoat, Honeybee Gardens, RGB, Sheswai, and LVX are the brands they named.

I don’t know very much about cosmetics – including nail polish – but I’m certainly willing to give these brands a try. Allow me to join the rank of those who misquote the Bard’s line from Macbeth: Vanity {It’s really “frailty.”}, thy name is woman.Kidney Arizona

But I’m not misquoting this. The Phoenix Kidney Walk is April 19th and we have a team!  SlowItDown is the umbrella group (not really sure that’s the right word) for all the books and the blog.  Remember asking me to come out from behind the typewriter?  This is it!  Use the walk as an excuse to introduce yourself to me or, better yet, join the team.  Just in case you don’t remember how:

Go to Kidneywalk.kintera.org. You’ll see “Register Here” in blue on the top left. Click it. Then you’ll need to sign an agreement, click join a team, choose SlowItDown from the dropdown. Hit continue and it will ask you to create a sign on with the usual basic questions asked.

If you’d prefer not to walk, but do want to donate, please do that in Team SlowItDown’s name.  Thanks, all.

Big news!  Every third order for The Book of Blogs: Moderate Stage Chronic Kidney Disease, Part 1 will be FREE from now until the end of the month.  We already had an order-it-free day on my birthday and now Amazon has come up with this deal.  Yay, Amazon.  I urge you to The_Book_of_Blogs-_M_Cover_for_Kindletake advantage of this. To make certain there’s a free book in the deal for you, ask two friends to order the book at the same time.

Keep an eye out for Part 2, also.  I’m working really hard to have that out by the end of this shortened month. Funny story about why there’s a Part 1 and a Part 2.  No matter how I edited, cut, shortened the original version of the book, it came out to over 600 pages.  I could barely hold it!

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2015/02/23/paint-on-my-nails/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

