Sailing, Naturally

Wow!  I just spent the past three days at a Landmark Wisdom Unlimited course and discovered that my already terrific life is even more than terrific than I thought. The theme was loosely, “What do you like about your life?” I was one of those that just kept going and growing my list again and again. Sharing Chronic Kidney Disease awareness was high on that list.

Talking about sharing, I casually mentioned to my daughter Nima – researcher par excellence – that I was looking for information about natural Nimapreventatives and/or cures for sea sickness.  Most of today’s research came from her immediately jumping on my comment.  Then I casually mentioned to her that she might consider a job as a writer’s research assistant.  She’s a talented person in many areas (I guarantee you this is not just mother pride), and this is one of them.

Bear and I are still about six weeks out from my very first cruise.  I’ve managed all the business, such as the tickets, the land excursions, the hotels for before and after, etc. What I’m still working on is the cautions about motion sickness made by my sister-in-law – Judy Peck. Last week I wrote about over the counter medical solutions and their relationship to CKD.  This week, we go the natural path.IMG_0959 (1)

That said (written), I must caution you in my turn.  Natural aids have neither been tested nor approved by the Federal Drug Administration.  Even if you’re not in favor of the FDA, remember that dosages and timing of natural aids have not been tested either.  Also, see page 87 of What Is It and How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease.

In other words, if anything in today’s blog catches your interest, please check with your nephrologist before you even think of taking whatever the product is.  I am not a doctor, have never claimed to be one, and want you to understand that you and your nephrologist are the final arbitrators of what is safe for your kidneys and what is not.

Ready?  Here we go. First off, we have WebMD at http://www.webmd.com/a-to-z-guides/acupressure-bands-for-motion-sickness-topic-overview. This is the one that caught my eye right away.

These bands use pressure, electricity, or both to stimulate the P6 acupuncture point. This point is located about two finger-widths from the crease on the underside of the wrist. The elastic bands usually have a raised surface that applies pressure on the wrist. Practitioners of acupuncture and acupressure believe stimulation of this point may stop nausea and vomiting.Adult Pack

Reminder: this is not an endorsement of this particular brand, simply a representation of what the band looks like and how it’s used.

Neither side effects nor effectiveness have been proven, so I’m wondering how I can test this before we cruise.  In New York, I would have jumped on the Staten Island ferry.  Wait, I never got seasick on the ferry, so that wouldn’t work.  Hmmm, I didn’t get seasick on the cruises around Manhattan Island either.

Maybe I’m one of those people who just doesn’t get seasick. But just in case you are, I’ll write about what else Nima found for us.

Many thanks to both my daughter for finding this and the HerbalShop.com at http://herbalshop.com/Acupressure/Acupressure_12.html for these

charts showing the acupressure points that can help.

Again, I don’t see how this can harm the kidneys, but I do urge you to talk with your nephrologist beforehand.  I found an equal number of articles in favor of and opposed to acupressure in the treatment of CKD, but none about using it for seasickness if you have CKD.  Interesting.

Now I’m wondering if this is my favorite natural seasickness aid. Of course, you can use a mixture of methods.  By the way, you don’t need to massage all these pressure points.  One or two may do the trick.

Nima also found an interesting (I think) article on yoga for seasickness on The Art of Living site at http://www.artofliving.org/in-en/yoga/health-and-wellness/yoga-for-motion-sickness. However, I have to admit my ignorance.  I understood very little of it since it mentioned positions a non-yogi – like me – would have to research and probably, more realistically, learn from a teacher – say as in a class.

The article didn’t mention CKD so I attempted to research yoga + chronic kidney disease + seasickness.  That didn’t work, so I kept rearranging the order of the search terms and still got no hits. I don’t see how yoga can hurt, other than sprains and strains if it’s all new to you, but I hesitate to say this is okay when I’m not your nephrologist.

Then there was this on Ask Dr. Mao at http://www.askdrmao.com/questions-and-answers/ginger-for-nausea/

Ginger has been used as food and medicine for millennia. Ginger’s modern use dates back to the early 1980s, when a scientist named D. Mowrey noticed that ginger-filled capsules reduced his nausea during an episode of flu. Subsequent research ultimately led to approve ginger being used as a treatment for indigestion and motion sickness.

Cup of Tea in MorningGinger is typically not as effective as standard drugs for motion sickness, but it has the advantage of not causing drowsiness. Some physicians recommend ginger over other motion sickness drugs for older individuals who are unusually sensitive to drowsiness or loss of balance.

However, the National Kidney Foundation does caution that ginger could interfere with your prescription medication.  While not specially aimed at the CKD population, this is the first I noticed any mention of “motion sickness drugs” and “loss of balance” in the same sentence. Odd that a medication aimed at relieving such symptoms can actually be a cause of one.

I have no intention of becoming seasick on our two cruises (the second in the Caribbean in September to celebrate said sister-in-law’s birthday and the 48th anniversary she will be sharing with my brother, Paul), but you know I’ll be bringing the acupressure chart and one of the seasickness bands with me… should my nephrologist concur.

Book Cover

I have a favor to ask: if you have read either of The Book of Blogs: Moderate Stage Chronic Kidney Disease, please write a review onDigital Cover Part 1 Amazon.com.  This is what one reader had to say in his review,

If you have kidney disease, like I do, you can relate to what Gail Rae-Garwood has written here… very useful…

Until next week,Part 2

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2015/05/04/sailing-naturally/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

