Do I or Don’t I?

cruiseThree weeks ago, Bear and I embarked on my very first cruise.  For years, he’s been asking me to take a cruise.  For years, he’s been asking me to go to Alaska.  For years, he’s been asking me to ride on the Alaska Railroad. This is my second anniversary gift to him.

What makes it even better is that friends and family came together to take care of the wondrous cancer-free Bella in our home for the whole time we were away. There were people in and out at all times of the day and night to be with her.IMAG0269 (1)

Which brings us to today’s topic. Months ago, I wrote about a test my nutritional counselor suggested I take in order to take care of myself. I was warned it would be six weeks or more before I received the results of this blood draw. They’re finally arrived.

The test is Genova Diagnostics’ NutrEval for FMV amino acids. What was tested were antioxidants, B vitamins, minerals, essential fatty acids, digestive support, other vitamins, and amino acids. Pretty comprehensive, huh?

GenovaSince I need to research how Chronic Kidney Disease interplays with what supplements were recommended for me, I thought I’d share the ‘high need’ ones with you. First on our hit parade is in the antioxidant category. I’m glad I don’t need CoQ10 since that was in the normal range. Now I know why I ignore those tablets in the pharmacy. Vitamin A/Carotenoids, Vitamin C (Uh-oh, must have gone overboard avoiding this after the kidney stones), Vitamin E/Tocopherols were all in the borderline range, where I’ll let them stay for now.

a-Lipoic Acid, which is the same as alpha lipoic acid, however was in the high need range… as in a suggested dosage of 200 mg. Apparently the main food sources of this are:

organ meats which are high in phosphorouscpy broccoli.2

spinach which is one of the highest potassium foods

broccoli which I eat like it’s going out of style.

Lesser food sources are tomatoes, peas, Brussels sprouts and brewer’s yeast.

Davita.com has this to say about phosphorous. You can read more about it at http://www.davita.com/kidney-disease/diet-and-nutrition/diet-basics/high-phosphorus?-investigate-the-cause-when-you-have-kidney-disease/e/8003

Phosphorus is the second most common mineral in the body after calcium and is needed for good health. However, people with chronic kidney disease (CKD) have difficulty eliminating extra phosphorus from their bodies.

I’ve only got three servings of vegetables a day on the renal diet so I don’t want to waste them on high potassium choices or vegetables I don’t care for.  As for organ meats, I rarely eat red meat and don’t like the taste of these (Funny how I can remember how they tasted when I’ve lost so many other memories, isn’t it?). I can understand the deficiency.

Now this is peculiar. In researching this, I came across http://www.AlphaLipoicAcid.com which clearly states:

thiaminIf you’re deficient in thiamine (vitamin B1), a condition often associated with alcoholism, you shouldn’t take alpha lipoic acid.

The latest sources listed on their site are from 2007. That’s too long ago.

While I don’t drink, the NutrEval also showed I was deficient in and had a high need for Thiamin – or B1 – to the tune of 50 mg. I’d have to find another source to see if I can take this supplement.

I went to WebMD which is usually helpful to me. Hmmm, their latest source is 2012 but the site warns about taking this supplement with diabetic medication. It’s never easy, is it?

I seem to be going in circles here, so I’ll try this another way. According to my NutrEval Interpretation,

a-Lipoic Acid plays an important role in energy production, antioxidant activity (including the regeneration of vitamin C and glutathione), insulin signaling, cell signaling and the catabolism of a-keto acids and amino acids.

Mind you, this was taken from the Interpretation At-A-Glance for the patient.  The physician’s is even more detailed. I just looked at seven differentIMG_1229 sites, some selling this supplement, and read parts of three different books. Each one declares that a-Lipoic Acid should not be taken if you have a thiamine deficiency.

So do I take the supplement or not? Since I’m still worried about taking it when it’s suggested I not take it while being B1 deficient, I will send the physician report to my nephrologist.

Let’s flip this baby and see if I get anywhere researching thiamin deficiency.

Oh, my goodness!!!! I went to the Mayo Clinic at http://www.mayoclinic.org/drugs-supplements/thiamine/interactions/hrb-20060129 only to discover that thiamin and Metformin – which I take for pre-diabetes – don’t mix.

Caution is advised when using medications that lower blood sugar. People taking drugs for diabetes by mouth or insulin should be monitored closely by a qualified healthcare professional, including a pharmacist. Medication adjustments may be necessary.

Furthermore, there’s a caution on the site that supplements are not approved nor regulated by the FDA. All that’s offered are approximate dosages by age and length of duration that are LIKELY acceptable.  I’m becoming very uncomfortable with this.

So I am deficient in a-Lipoic Acid – whose supplementation may also affect my blood glucose – but am urged not to take it if I have a thiamin deficiency. Then I am urged not to take thiamin supplementation since it may interfere with the Metformin.  Or is this a hearty suggestion to stop the Metformin?  Sorry, folks, this is something for my nephrologist to help with.  I guess we’ll just have to wait until I can contact him.

It’s not life threatening and we were in Vancouver for five days before boarding the ship which gave me a lot of time to ruminate. I’m wondering if this test is the deciding point between alternative medicine and my nephrologist’s kind of medicine.

VancouverShould push come to shove, I’m not ready to leave my nephrologist and rely on alternative medicine. I’ve done well at keeping my CKD at stage 3A for the last eight years… with the help of my nephrologists. I’m not saying that you should do as I do, simply that this would not be my choice and I’d urge you to think carefully if it’s your choice.

I’m going back to looking at our pictures of Alaska’s Inside Passage.

Until next week,

Keep living your life.Digital Cover Part 2 redone - CopyDIGITAL_BOOK_THUMBNAIL

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2015/07/06/do-i-or-dont-i/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

