Proof Positive

Name

Standard Range

 5/29/15  9/4/15
TSH

0.450 – 4.500 uIU/mL

 1.900  3.480

diabetes

Name

Standard Range

5/29/15 9/4/15
Microalbumin, Urine

0.0 – 17.0 ug/mL

29.7 38.9

Glomerulus-Nephron 300 dpi jpg

How’s that for proof positive of what stress can do to you?  Other values also shot up, some past the normal range. While .57 to 1.00 mg/dL is within range for creatinine, I knew mine was a bit beyond this range. Now it’s shot up from 1.02 to 1.12.

My glucose – which I’ve spent over a year getting and keeping in range – went up from 94 to 117 mg/dL. The normal range is 65-99.

And my GFR? Oh no, down to 51 from 56.  So now I’m a stressed, sicker person.

Mind you, this was unavoidable stress. There was a medical emergency in the family (No, it’s not me.) and, by default, I was the one handling it. There simply wasn’t anyone else to do it at the time and it had to be dealt with immediately.  It was that kind of emergency.

There went the carefully orchestrated seven hours of sleep a night.  A 36 hour round trip to New Jersey with snatches of sleep here and there killed that.

There went the carefully orchestrated daily exercise. I couldn’t leave the patient alone long enough to even walk the airports… and the patient was incapable of doing it, anyway.

There went the carefully orchestrated ingestion of 64 fluid oz. It was catch as catch can since you can’t bring water into the gate area and they only had flavored or mineral infused water for sale once you passed the entry area.

There went the carefully orchestrated renal diet.  No, wait, that one I was very, very careful about.  I just drove the restaurant servers nuts with all my modifications. I figured if I could hold on to that, maybe I wouldn’t do as much damage to my kidneys and sugar levels as I feared I might.

Now that I’ve started in medias res (Latin for in the midst of things. Something I remember from long, long ago at Hunter College…even in an emergency.), let’s backtrack a little.  The obvious mystery is mg/dL. I have responded ‘huh?’ to this before. It means milligrams per deciliter.

Convert Deciliters To Fluid Ounces

Quantity Deciliters Fluid Ounces

(Courtesy of http://www.csgnetwork.com/directvolcvtdl2fo.html)

You’re probably familiar with mg. if you take any prescription medication.  As for deciliter? (I love that I remember so much from college almost 45 years ago.) That means 1/10 of a liter or 3.8 ounces. For the sake of full disclosure, I did have to look up the equivalent in ounces. So you see, there wasn’t that much change in my values, but enough for me – and my PCP – to notice.

Book CoverTo be perfectly honest, I had to use What Is It and How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease as my bible to even understand these results.  Odd how you forget what you spent so much time learning… especially during an emergency.

TSH means Thyroid Stimulating Hormone. This is what I wrote about it.

“Part of the CBC [comprehensive blood test] which measures your triiodothyronine, which is a thyroid hormone that plays an important role in controlling your metabolism.  If the T3 reading is abnormal, then the T4 test is ordered to find out what the problem might be.

So it’s really a test to see if you need another test to check your thyroid function.  Notice how much closer I came to needing that secondary test while I was under stress. Although I was still within normal range, that was a significant jump.  No wonder my metabolism is screwed up. That is governed by your thyroid.

As for the Microalbumin, Urine, I was out of bounds there and, frankly, that worries me. This

“tests for micro, or very small amounts, of albumin in the urine. Ur stands for urine. Albumin is a form of protein that is water soluble. Urine is a liquid, a form of water, so the albumin should have been dissolved. Protein in the urine may be an indication of kidney disease.”

Well, I know I have Chronic Kidney Disease and I don’t like this indication that stress is making it worse. I’ve worked too hard for the last eight years to let this happen.

I’m hoping the renal dietician can help me get back on track when I see her later today. I follow the renal diet that was designed for me, but now I believe it needs some tweaking.food label

I’ve also been declared pre-diabetic since the last time I saw her.  Although I’ve been to see a diabetes counselor for several months, I’m wondering if today’s appointment with the renal nutritionist will give me ideas about how to include the pre-diabetes diet in the kidney disease diet.

I was down at my Primary Care Doctor’s appointment this past week; I won’t deny it. Add these test results to the family medical emergency plus 9/11 (I watched the buildings from my classroom window and went to more memorials that week than any 10 people should have to go to in a year.) and  unexpected death of a neighbor and I really wasn’t myself.  I finally asked her, “What’s the point of all my hard work if I end up with these results?”

Being the kind of person she is and the kind of doctor she is, she reminded me it was my hard work that kept my rising values from rising even more. Funny, but that got me right back on track.  Thank you to my PCP and other concerned doctors like her.

Talking about testing, here’s something locals should know about and it’s this Saturday, folks.

11990439_10204944411870363_4775265224050810062_n

Call me crazy, but I’m having quite a bit of fun indexing The Book of Blogs: Moderate Stage Chronic Kidney Disease, Part 1 and The Book of Blogs: Moderate Stage Chronic Kidney Disease, Part 2. It seems to me that I’d rather be doing that or researching than working on my fiction.  Hmmmm, what am I telling myself?

IMG_1398

 

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2015/09/14/proof-positive/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

