It Would Have Been Nice…

NYC I’m just back from a wonderful week in New York where people traveled great distances to see me, gladly opened their homes to me, and introduced me to interesting – very interesting – people. Between my family and friends, I haven’t felt this loved in a long time…and I always feel loved.

But one thing bothered me. I couldn’t seem to get enough fruit and vegetables each day since I was staying with people who ate differently from me, had different schedules than I did, and took me out to restaurants quite a bit.

Some days, there were no vegetables at all in my diet.  I didn’t like that, so I started playing around with ideas of how I could avoid this problem when next I travel visiting others. I seem to have no problem when I’m by myself during my travels.

This time, I had stopped at little markets on my way from one place to another, but no one was willing to sell me half a banana (for example) and, considering the timing of my market visits, some hadn’t received their fresh fruit and vegetable deliveries yet or had already sold out of them.  Mind you, I’m not talking about big chain supermarkets here. There weren’t any near the elevated or subway train stations I used.fruits and veggies

That’s when I remembered Janet Cook who is a Juice Plus representative, so I took a look at her website. On, my! This is a product I wish I had discovered before being diagnosed with Chronic Kidney Disease.

This is how Juice Plus+ describes itself on her website at http://janetcook.juiceplus.com/content/JuicePlus/en/what-is-juice-plus/what-is-juice-plus.html

Juice Plus+ is whole food based nutrition, including juice powder concentrates from 30 different fruits, vegetables and grains. Juice Plus+ helps bridge the gap between what you should eat and what you do eat every day. Not a multivitamin, medicine, treatment or cure for any disease, Juice Plus+ is made from quality ingredients carefully monitored from farm to capsule to provide natural nutrients your body needs to be at its best.

No great claims, just common sense getting the fruits and vegetables you may be missing every day.  Natural nutrients. Oh, joy! But wait… what’s this about concentrate?

The Cambridge Dictionary at http://dictionary.cambridge.org/us/dictionary/english/concentrate offers us both the noun (name) and verb (action) definitions for concentrate.

Noun – a substance from which water or other substances have been removed

Verb – to make a ​substance ​stronger or ​purer by ​removing ​water or other ​substances

We’re used to the noun definition, but did you realize that, according to the definition of the word as a verb, concentration makes a substance stronger?

I scoured the website for the concentration’s equivalence of each fruit and vegetable but couldn’t find them. Then I realized that’s futile. If they are in the mix, how can you figure out how much of it is in the concentrate?

Janet was quick to offer me the name and email address of their consulting doctor when I explained my quandary to her. I liked that: transparency about their product.

She’d also asked me repeatedly which fruits and vegetables I couldn’t have.  Much to my chagrin, I realized I’d never answered her. I downloaded the ingredients in two of their products and compared them to the Northern Arizona Council on Renal Nutrition Diet which I follow.

 Juice Plus+ Orchard & Garden Blend

20 FRUITS, VEGETABLES, AND GRAINS

  • Apple • Acerola Cherry • Beet • Cranberry • Date • Orange • Pineapple • Papaya • Peach • Prune • Broccoli • Brown Rice Bran • Cabbage • Carrot • Garlic • Kale • Oat Bran • Parsley • Spinach • Tomato •

Juice Plus+ Orchard, Garden Blend & Vineyard Blend

30 FRUITS, VEGETABLES, AND GRAINS

  • Apple • Acerola Cherry • Beet • Cranberry • Date • Orange • Pineapple • Papaya • Peach • Prune • Broccoli • Brown Rice Bran • Cabbage • Carrot • Garlic • Kale • Oat Bran • Parsley • Spinach • Tomato • Artichoke • Bilberry • Blackberry • Black Currant • Blueberry • Cocoa • Concord grape • Cranberry • Elderberry • Pomegranate • Raspberry •

Again, I was taken with the transparency.  However, I found another problem for CKD patients here. I am restricted to 3000 mg. of potassium and 800 mg. of phosphorous daily.  Artichokes and dates are high potassium food. And don’t forget the products are concentrated which means the potassium count will be even higher.  Brans, bilberry, and cocoa are high in phosphorous.

Then there’s the problem that our kidneys are not so great at filtering waste from our bodies when we have CKD. That means the excess potassium and phosphorous stay in our bodies longer and more of it stays.

Globe-ArtichokeAccording to WebMD at http://www.webmd.com/a-to-z-guides/hyperkalemia-causes-symptoms-treatments?page=2

Hyperkalemia {That’s the medical term for excess potassium.} is a common cause of life-threatening heart rhythm changes, or cardiac arrhythmias. It can lead to an emergency condition called ventricular fibrillation. In this condition, the lower parts of your heart flutter rapidly instead of pumping blood.

Untreated, an extremely high amount of potassium in your blood can make your heart stop beating, causing death.

Excess phosphorous is a bit more complicated. Healthline at http://www.healthline.com/health/phosphorus-in-diet#TooMuchPhosphorous6 informs us of the following.cocoa

According to the NIH {This refers to the National Institutes of Health.}, it’s rare to have too much phosphorus in your blood (NIH, 2011). Typically, this problem only develops in people with kidney disease or those who have problems regulating their calcium.

However, too much phosphate can be toxic. An excess of the mineral can cause diarrhea, as well as a hardening of organs and soft tissue.

Having too much phosphorus in your blood can also cause it to combine with calcium, forming mineral deposits in your muscles.

High levels of phosphorus can also affect your body’s ability to effectively use other minerals, such as iron, calcium, magnesium, and zinc.

What is itThere’s more discussion of how CKD can affect the amounts of what we can tolerate and why in What Is It and How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease. This is one of the topics I found the most confusing when I was first diagnosed.

Am I disappointed that I can’t take this product? A little, but not enough to take the chance of hastening the decline of my kidney function even further. Everything we put in our mouths – food or medication – affects our CKD.

Say, were you part of the book giveaway?  Would you like me to congratulate you publicly on the blog? Let me know.  And look for another giveaway when the indexes for the twins are done.IMG_1398

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2015/11/02/it-would-have-been-nice/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

