Too Good to be True (for CKD)

fruits and veggiesIt looks like we have a theme this month.  Last week, I wrote about Janet Cook and Juice Plus, a wonderful source of fruits and vegetables, but not for those of us with Chronic Kidney Disease. There are other people in my life who are excited about what they have to offer and have urged me to explore their products, too.

Two are now involved with Pruvit, a ketogenic product. One of them, an acquaintance of several years, has often seen me politely cover a yawn at Landmark Worldwide seminars and noticed my eyes start to glaze over when brain fog set in. He introduced me to his product. When I asked for more information, he sent me to the following websites:

Ketosis Starves cancer and treats epilepsy: Dr. Dom D’Agostino TEDx (self organized) https://youtu.be/3fM9o72ykww

Overview https://youtu.be/J-4Xxx32WuUbaby-shots-5

Benefits of the Keto Diet, Dr. Josh Axe https://youtu.be/kgKiA3F-JHw

I don’t have cancer, epilepsy, or Alzheimer’s, but I certainly could use these benefits listed among others at https://pruvit.wordpress.com/the-benefits-of-keto-os-ketones/

  • Weight loss
  • Blood sugar balance and enhanced insulin sensitivitybelly fat
  • Increase satiety, and decreased food cravings
  • Improved energy levels, oxygen capacity, motor performance & athletic performance
  • Inflammation management
  • Endurance enhancement

This sounded great!  Maybe a little too great for a CKD patient?  So I did what I usually do: researched a bit more and found this at FAQ @ https://pruvit.zendesk.com/hc/en-us.

…. There is no reason that the ketones produced by the product will affect the kidneys or liver any differently than ketones produced from exogenous fats (such as when eating a ketogenic diet) or ketones produced from stored fats (such as when calorie restricting or losing weight).  Exogenous ketone scientific literature does not suggest that neither the kidney nor liver function is negatively affected by ketosis.  The major role of the kidneys when it comes to ketones is to excrete excess ketones in the urine.  This excretion will likely be highest during the first few days of keto-adaptation (either in eating the keto diet or consuming KETO//OS), but the body will retain more and the tissues will begin to preferentially burn the ketones as consumption continues.  ….Ketones will also naturally act as a diuretic, so you lose salt, potassium calcium and magnesium, and it is generally encouraged to increase sodium intake with ketones….

salt

Hmmmm, you need to increase your sodium intake with this product. But as CKD patients, we are limited here. I know I am restricted to 2,000 mg. daily which is fairly liberal as far as renal diets go.

I decided to look at the product’s nutritional label at http://pruvitnow.com/products/ketoos/

Pruvit-Keto-OS-FactsNotice one packet contains 970 mg. of sodium. As I scoured several independent distributors’ websites, it became clear you start with one packet and work your way up to three a day, one with each meal. That means three times the 970 mg. in each packet or 2,910 mg. daily without the extra sodium you’re urged to ingest.  Wait a minute. I was already 910 mg. of sodium over my limit with just the packets before adding extra.

That and the following statement convinced me that while this sounds like a terrific product, it’s not for Chronic Kidney Disease patients.

*The Food and Drug Administration has not evaluated these statements. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

*sigh* Hello again renal diet, my best friend.

While I was working on indexing The Book of Blogs: Moderate Stage Chronic Kidney Disease, Part 1 and Part 2, my eyes got tired from all the numbers I was working with, so I played around on the internet… and look what I found!

The Book of Blogs: Moderate Stage Chronic Kidney Disease, Part 1

  • I got this when it was free, but have just now gotten around to browsing through it. These are the same blogs that I read and relied on for information as I went Digital Cover Part 1down the road of chronic kidney disease. If you need to know it, it’s here or in part 2. I started with her book, What Is It and How Did I Get It? when I saw a flyer for it in my kidney doctor’s waiting room. Much like Gail, I’ve been inhaling information about this issue, since I’m not one to sit around and trust someone to just tell me what to do. She has done her research. I have a few other books about kidney disease, but this one was the one that my husband liked the best when he was curious about my condition. The blogs cover most of this territory, but broken down in nice little blog type chapters. The only thing missing is a table of contents, but as I looked for the thing I wanted, I found I was re-reading things I’d forgotten about. So, browsing this volume and the second one as well can be helpful as a refresher course so to speak.
  • This book is the only written resource I’ve found to answer the tough questions that come with Chronic Kidney Disease. Although our doctors are great at treating us, they aren’t always available to give in depth answers or really explore the whys and hows of a question. Rae-Garwood does an excellent job anticipating exactly the kinds of questions that came up for us. Give it a try.
  • If you have kidney disease, like I do, you can relate to what Gail Rae-Garwood has written here… very useful…

The Book of Blogs: Moderate Stage Chronic Kidney Disease, Part 2

  • Part 2So much information!
  • Although this was purchased for my wife, I can honestly say that there is a wealth of information in this book as well as Part 1. So many questions answered that doctors and nutritionists forget to tell patients have been researched and answered in layman’s terms. Hooray for the efforts of this author who is using her talents to help others.

What Is It and How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease

  • Great book to help with the anxiety that comes with the diagnosisBook Cover
  • Very helpful

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2015/11/09/too-good-to-be-true-for-ckd/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

