Here’s Another One…

And so the inquiry continues. Considering some of the surprising comments I’ve received, it’s time to make it clear in the very first paragraph of today’s blog that I am neither endorsing nor condemning the products  I write about. Like me, some of my readers have expressed interest in them and wondered if we could take them as Chronic Kidney Disease patients.

fruits and veggiesI liked Juice Plus, but as the first blog of the month explained, that won’t work for us for a number of reasons. By the way, Janet Cook has requested that the doctor who is the company’s medical advisor answer some of the questions I brought up in the blog. Last week, I explained why Pruvit – enjoyed by many I know – would not be a good choice for us.

This week, it’s Isagenix.  I thought it was interesting that their website is tailored according to the country in which you live. The URL for the United States is http://www.isagenix.com/?sc_lang=en-US.  I have an even more personal interest in this one since one of my daughters has just begun their program. She’s interested in becoming healthier than she is right now since, even exercising assiduously, she’s beginning to notice her changing body and the internal sensations that displease her.iasgenix

From the website and discussions with my daughter and her friends who adhere to this regiment, it seems like the shakes are the basic products. My mouth started watering when I read the names: Creamy Dutch Chocolate, Creamy French Vanilla, and Strawberry Cream.

Uh-oh, cream. That must mean milk! Sure enough, each contains both milk protein concentrate and low-heat nonfat milk. That means I’m out since I’m lactose intolerant.  But I was curious about low-heat nonfat milk since I’d never heard of it before.

Diary America at http://www.dairyamerica.com/products/grade-low-heat explained it this way.

low fatSpray Dried Grade “A” Low Heat Nonfat Dry Milk is the powder resulting from the removal of the fat and water from fresh Grade “A” Milk. It contains the lactose, milk proteins and milk minerals in the same relative proportions as they occur in fresh milk. The product is made from fresh, pasteurized nonfat milk to which no preservative, alkali, neutralizing agent or other chemical has been added.

What is more important to us as CKD patients is the chart I found when I scrolled down the page. It’s based on 100 grams.

Minerals

Calcium 1248 mg
Iron 0.4 mg
Magnesium 110 mg
Phosphorus 993mg
Potassium 1674 mg
Sodium 494 mg
Zinc 4.08 mg

The serving size of the shakes is 2 scoops which equal between 59-61 grams depending on the flavor.  The program calls for two shakes a day so we need to double that for between 118 to 122 grams a day.  I’ll be doing some rounding off here, but that means you’d be taking in about 1048 mg. of phosphorous per day. Ummm, my daily limit is 800 mg. I think there just might be a phosphorous problem with low-heat nonfat milk for CKD patients here, she understated.

Now that’s a bit convoluted and based only on the low-heat milk powder that is one of the ingredients in the Isagenix shakes.isagenix shake

Let’s try this the simple way. Each shake contains between 348 and 350 mg. of potassium.  Let’s take an average of 349. Multiply that by two since you drink two shakes a day on this plan and you have 698 mg. of potassium. That doesn’t seem so bad since my limit is 3000 mg. per day.

Oh wait, there are also snacks and a full meal required in this program – as I understand it. The IsaLean Bars (snacks) range from 130 to 480 mg. of potassium. We need to double that since two per day are necessary. Let’s say we’re partial to Chocolate Cream Crisp which has 480 mg. of potassium. That’s an additional 960 mg. of potassium. So now we’re up to 1178 mg. of potassium.  That’s not over my limit, but I still have a balanced meal to account for.  Can it be done? Sure. How? Carefully, very carefully.

salt Let’s take a look at the sodium in the products since that’s another big restriction with Chronic Kidney Disease. My limit is 2000 mg. per day. 240-265 mg. of sodium are in each shake. Double that for the two shakes a day and you have between 480 and 530 mg. daily.  Add in two snacks at between 60 and 140 mg. of sodium for another 120 to 280 mg. of sodium. Totaled, you have between 600 and 810 mg. of sodium. There’s still plenty left over for that balanced meal.

However, there are substances that are hard on the kidneys in these shakes: flax seed powder and psyllium seed powder are just two that jumped out at me from the ingredients list. The shakes also contain alfalfa leaf which is often used to increase urine production.

I am envious my daughter can use this product to get herself back to the kind of body condition she’s used to, but as a CKD patient, I’ll have to say no, I can’t use this product … no matter how much I want to. I’ll take preserving my remaining kidney function to an easier way to get back into shape any day.

IMG_1398

 

On another note, I was astounded to discover that all three of my Chronic Kidney Disease books are on sale via Amazon in a dozen different countries.  Whenever I finally think of checking on their progress, I find another country added. In addition to indexing the books, I’m considering offering the print copies on Barnes and Noble.com.  Any thoughts on that? I was also considering offering What Is It and How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease on Nook as well as Kindle since my digital books are less expensive than the print ones. Does that ring anyone’s bell?What is it

On a personal note, I am happy to report there is no travel scheduled until next year, so I get to stay in my very own office working on kidney projects.  Oh, happy day!

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2015/11/16/heres-another-one/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. They have isalean shakes dairy free with less phosphorous. I am asking my doctor about it. What do you think? Would you do it with the dairy free shakes. I’m also a dialysis patient.

    • Definitely check this with your nephrologist, Joe. I am not a dialysis patient and don’t know if this is appropriate for someone on dialysis. I write about early and moderate stage chronic kidney disease. Sorry to disappoint!


Leave a Reply

