Not For Us

What an incredible weekend. I’m involved with Landmark Worldwide and spent a truly edifying three days at a Wisdom Unlimited Weekend (Comment if you’d like to know more about this.) and then had the pleasure of seeing my wickedly funny ventriloquist cousin – Steve Bernard – Jackperform at The Comedy Spot here in Arizona.  You may have noticed the blog is a bit late today.  Gee, I wonder why….

Before I forget, Janet Cook of JuicePlus received a response from the company’s medical advisor addressing my concerns about the amount of phosphorous and potassium in their products.

“Two Vineyard Blend capsules provide less than 30 milligrams of potassium and less than 20 milligrams of sodium, less than 10 mg of phosphorus….The potassium content of the daily recommended amount of Juice Plus+®, two Juice Plus+ Orchard Blend® capsules and two Juice Plus+  Garden Blend® capsules, will provide approximately 45 milligrams of potassium. Two Juice Plus+ Vineyard Blend® capsules provide approximately 30 milligrams of potassium. The phosphorus content of a daily adult serving of Juice Plus+  Orchard Blend® and Juice Plus+ Garden Blend® is less than 10 milligrams.”

That certainly takes care of my going over the limit of sodium, phosphorous, and potassium concerns which place the decision as to whether or not to indulge in this product smack dab back in your hands.  Thanks to Janet for quickly and efficiently getting this information to me.  I do appreciate the transparency of this company.

sad faceConfession time.  When I was a younger woman dealing with a newly diagnosed ill daughter, a difficult order of protection for my children, and an unexpected dumping by a boyfriend who had been a friend since high school, I threw up my hands and decided I needed help to control my weight – the one thing I thought I might be able to control.

A trusted friend introduced me to her new business and its products.  It was Shaklee, which is still in business over two decades later.  I can’t be certain this is the same product, but I think this was what I was taking, especially since I was a chocoholic at the time. (Ah, those were the days, my friends.) I also had never heard of soy at the time.

Shaklee Life Energizing Shake  canister

New delicious meal shake contains nutrients clinically proven to help create the foundation for a longer, healthier life. It is designed to increase your energy, help you achieve a healthier weight, and provide incredible digestive and immune support from fiber and probiotics.

Available in soy and non-soy formulas

The Shaklee Life Energizing Shake Mix comes packed with:

  • 24 grams* of protein, including 16 grams of plant-based, non-GMO protein
  • Added leucine to help preserve lean muscle and achieve a healthier weight
  • A powerful combination of prebiotics and one billion CFU of patented probiotics
  • Omega-3 (ALA) to support heart and brain health

And Life Shake:

  • Gluten free, lactose free, low glycemic, and Kosher
  • Contains no added artificial flavors, sweeteners or preservatives

* When prepared as directed with 1 cup of nonfat milk.

You can take a look at this yourself on their website at https://www.shaklee.com/us/en/shop/healthyweight/shaklee180meals/product-_p_shaklee-life-energizing-shakep. My buddy is no longer selling the product and has regained all the weight she lost and more.  Me, too.  That’s why I wonder if these ‘miracles,’ are such miracles since they don’t work if you don’t keep taking them.

Okay, enough philosophy, let’s take a look at this product through the eyes of a Chronic Kidney Disease patient.  When I clicked on Features for this product, I found more information.

  • 24 grams* of protein, including 16 grams of proprietary, plant-based, non-GMO protein with precise ratios of 9 essential amino acids, optimized for high protein quality
  • Non-soy formula contains an exclusive blend of sacha inchi, rice, pea and potato protein

As a CKD patient, I don’t think I’d like that. My renal diet allows 5 ounces of protein daily rather than the 24 grams each shake contains. I couldn’t find the information on the website, but vaguely remember having two shakes a day and a balanced meal. Two shakes? That’s 48 grams of protein. To put it in perspective, that’s less than 2 ounces a day, but I’ll pass. I can think of other ways I’d like to have my protein.

Just for fun, let’s look at the other two Ps and S, too.  The sodium is not bad at 250 mg. a day for two shakes. The potassium is 620 mg. for two shakes a day, also not despicable. As usual on nutritional labels these days, the phosphorous is not listed. However, we do know that milk, even non-fat milk, is a high phosphorous food.Label

Wait a minute, I just noticed something else. Are you prone to kidney stones? If so, you need to avoid high oxalate foods. Thought would have meant no chocolate shake for me.

I was curious about sacha inchi protein powder since it was new to me. About.com at http://altmedicine.about.com/od/herbsupplementguide/a/Sacha-Inchi.htm provided the following information.

Sacha inchi (Plukenetia volubilis) is a plant native to Peru. The term “sacha inchi” typically refers to edible seeds produced by the sacha inchi plant. sacha inchiAlso known as sacha peanut, mountain peanut, or Inca peanut, these seeds have a nut-like flavor when roasted. Often marketed as a “superfood,” sacha inchi is said to offer a variety of health benefits.

So it looks like young(er) and foolish is the way I was. There’s no double about this one: with our protein restrictions, it’s not for CKD patients.

Topic change: In keeping with my strict policy of using all the profits from my kidney books to further spread awareness of CKD and ways to slow down the progressive decline of kidney function once you have CKD, I did the smart thing. I turned to a professional indexer to index The Book of Blogs: Moderate Stage Chronic Kidney Disease, Part 2.Book CoverIMG_1398

Whether they’re for you, a newly diagnosed patient, friends, family, or anyone else, these books make excellent Christmas and Chanukah presents for those in the renal community and others who want to know about CKD. By the way, you can now order them in Sweden on Bokus.com.

I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving. I’m sorely tempted to empty the jar of our daily gratitudes on that day, but I’ll be good and wait until New Year’s.

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2015/11/23/not-for-us/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yes, it does seem that so many of the “healthy” food items or even recipes are high in protein. Protein seems to be “the more the better for you” item out there. I’m a pretty savy observer these days of what is in my foods and find that too many options are high in something I can’t have lots of. It’s taken me some time to teach my friends and family that more veggies are not helpful to me. Thanks to your blog, I am reminded of things I sometimes forget about.

  2. HI, I am NOT busting your chops on this, but why can’t you rewrite/edit your post in WordPress.com to reflect the correct protein issue? Since you are allowed ~44 gr approx. of meat protein ( 5 oz a day) you COULD have one shake a day only IF other nutrients were not bad for CKD..overall ALL of these products you discuss are to be avoided..REAL FOOD, made at home always seems best. We have control then over the ingredients. When the Nephs tell us ” eat in Moderation” NO ONE knows what that is, there is NO clinical description of it anywhere, no documentation, and what is moderate for one 120 lb woman is not the same for a 220 lb guy… so REAL food seems to be the best answer for CKD. Thanks

    • You are so right. That’s why I explain from my point of view and keep reminding readers to check with their nephrologists and/or their renal dietitians since I am neither. I am also not bashing the products since those without CKD may choose them. Thanks for your point of view.


Leave a Reply

