Why Not Here?

Having had no particular medical issue of my own this week – finally! – and none for anyone else in the family, I was casting about for something I’d like to write about when I found this in my files. It’s from SBS, which is self-described as, “…multilingual and multicultural radio and television services that inform, educate and entertain all Australians and, in doing so, reflect Australia’s multicultural society.” You can find this particular article at http://www.sbs.com.au/news/article/2014/05/28/doctors-hope-new-test-will-arrest-kidney-disease-deaths.

Australia“’The State of the Nation: Chronic Kidney Disease in Australia’ report by Kidney Health Australia shows while one in 10 adults have kidney disease, only one in 100 know they have it. But Kidney Health Australia medical director Tim Mathews said that could be about to change thanks to a new take-home test distributed by pharmacists.

‘Pharmacists have an opportunity to identify people at high risk of kidney trouble – those who present with a prescription for diabetes and for high blood pressure are the two groups we’re focusing on,’ Dr Mathews said. ‘So that’s an opportunity for them to have a dialogue with the patient and see if they’ve had their kidneys checked, and if not, offer them a urine test which the patient then buys and takes home to test in their own privacy. At the moment we know in General Practice, only 40 per cent of diabetics are having a urine test each year – we would hope to push that number up by this program. ‘”Urine_sample

Of course, I know that we’re not in Australia and that this is from almost two years ago, but think of it! Here we are desperate to spread Chronic Kidney Awareness so that people will know to be checked for the disease while the Australians are already doing something about people getting tested.

Why can’t we do that? Or are we already doing that? If we aren’t, why not? It just seemed such a simple aid to informing people they need to be tested.

What is it

 

SlowItDownCKD 2015 Book Cover (76x113)

 

IMG_1398

 

 

I’ve written four books about CKD and I know I haven’t covered this possibility in What Is It and How Did I Get It? Early Stage Chronic Kidney Disease, The Book of Blogs: Moderate Stage Chronic Kidney Disease, Parts 1 and 2, or SlowItDownCKD 2015. Why not? Because the idea is just so simple, so obvious, that I never thought of it. Let’s see if anyone else in the U.S. has.

Hmmm, I did find this from EurekAlert at http://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2016-01/cpa-pkt012616.php :

“Pharmacists who screened at-risk patients for chronic kidney disease (CKD) found previously unrecognized disease in 1 of every 6.4 patients tested, according to a study to be published in the January/February 2016 issue of the Canadian Pharmacists Journal.”

Sorry, wrong country – although we’re at least on the right continent now. I think I just found one… nope, that’s in England. Wait, there’s AJKDsomething in the American Journal of Kidney Disease… oh, it’s an editorial proposing pharmacists keep on the lookout for those at risk for CKD. Will you look at that! This was proposed in 2004, a dozen years ago. Canada, UK, Canada. No, nothing for the USA.

I know my pharmacist is very, very careful to check that the drugs I’m prescribed are those that will not harm my kidneys. You’ve probably already read several of my blogs about that. In the last one, I wrote about how a doctor covering for my primary care physician would not listen when I told him I had CKD and that my pharmacist told me point blank not to buy the drug he prescribed, then called him to make certain he understood why this drug was not one for CKD patients. He didn’t listen to me; she did… and then made him listen to her.

On a personal note, we had an extremely quiet third anniversary since I had the flu and Bear had a new diagnose of his own to deal with. I’m gladIMG_2394 we’d gotten to the symphony beforehand and we’ll just have re-arrange the dinner out with some of the kids. We’ve got that little vacation in Texas to look forward to next week. I’m sure we can find a way to celebrate there. Thank you for your warm wishes. I was surprised at how many people remembered.

I’m lucky. I have never felt alone, not even with the CKD diagnose. But some of my readers have let me know how very alone they feel with their illness even though family and friends are supportive. That’s why I want to let you know about The National Kidney Foundation’s Peers. The following is from their website at https://www.kidney.org/patients/peers.

“Do you need help adjusting to life with kidney disease? Or want to learn more about treatment options? NKF Peers is a FREE, telephone-based peer support  program from the National Kidney Foundation.   The program matches those in need of support with a peer mentor who has  been through a similar situation. You’ll connect with your mentor through a free, private phone system so you won’t have to disclose your personal phone number….

About NKF Peers

  • A national, telephone-based peer support program from the National Kidney Foundation
  • Connects people who want support with someone who has been there
  • Helps people adjust to living with chronic kidney disease, kidney failure, or a kidney transplant.

Also offers support to those considering living kidney donation or who have been have been living kidney donors.

NKF-logo_Hori_OB

 

 

How do participants interact with each other?

  • Participants are connected through a toll-free, automated telephone system. No one discloses personal phone numbers or incurs long-distance charges.
  • The automated telephone system allows participants to leave voicemail messages for their partners and block calls at certain hours.
  • Telephone services are provided free-of-charge by the NKF.

To learn more: Call 855-653-7337 (855-NKF-PEER) or email nkfpeers@kidney.org”

Of course, you can always drop a question or a comment on SlowItDownCKD’s Facebook page and I’ll research whatever you’re asking about… with the provision that you understand I am not a doctor and that you need to speak with your nephrologist before taking any action on my advice.kidney.jpg If it’s private, you can email me at SlowItDownCKD@gmail.com …with the same provision. By the way, I’m available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Do take a look at the new book. I’m really proud of this baby.

Until next week,

Keep living your life!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gailraegarwood.wordpress.com/2016/04/18/why-not-here/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

